File image: IOL

CAPE TOWN - Filling of the non-executive SABC Board vacancies draws to a close as the Portfolio Committee on Communications has publicised the 36 shortlisted candidates. 

Chairperson of the Committee, Mr. Humprey Maxegwana said, "We are confident that all the shortlisted candidates meet the required skills and expertise in the field of corporate governance, finance and human resource management, journalism and legal. We are also happy with both gender and racial representation".

The Committee has also agreed to retain the current five interim board members, who are: Mr. Mathata Tsedu, Ms. Khanyisile Kweyama, Ms. Febbe Potgieter-Gqubule, Mr. John Mattison and Mr. Krish Naidoo.

Here is the rest of the candidates: Mr. Mathatha Godfrey Tsedu, Mr. Krish Naidoo, Ms. Khanyisile Kweyama, Mr. John Matisonn, Mrs. Febbe Potgieter-Gqubule, Ms. Nomvuyiso Batyi, Ms. Rachel Kalidass, Mr. Thabiso Ratsomo, Mr. Rufus Dzuguda Kharidzha, Mr. Michael Markovitz, Mr. William Currie, Mr. Sandile Kama, Dr. Deenadaylen Konar, Ms. Harriet Meier, Ms. Dawn Earp, Mr. Michael Bauer, Judge Chris Greenland, Mr. Desmond Golding, Mr. Manaka Mathumo, Mr. Victor Rambau, Mr. Tshifhiwa Khorommbi, Mr. Mcebo Khumalo, Ms. Seipati Khumalo, Dr. Thidziambi Nethengwe, Ms. Cikizwa Dingi, Ms. Louise Vale, Mr. Yaasir Haffejee, Mr. Kwanele Gumbi, Mr. Jack Devnarian, Mr. Bongumusa Makhathini, Mr. Nkosana Mbokane, Mr. Michael Sass, Mr. Jim Matsho, Mr. Jack Phahlane, Mr. Dinkwanyane Mohuba and Ms. Leanne Govindsamy.

According to the Committee's statement, members of the public have five working days to comment on the names and the interviews will be conducted by the Committee from 30 August to 1 September 2017.