President Jacob Zuma. Photo: Leon Nicholas.

Johannesburg - President Jacob Zuma on Thursday appointed three members to the Financial and Fiscal Commission (FFC), the presidency said.

Sipho Lubisi, Gilingwe Mayende and Sibongile Muthwa would be members of the commission as from Monday, said spokesman Mac Maharaj in a statement.

Lubisi is a former Mpumalanga health MEC and speaker of the provincial legislature.

Mayende is a former director general for the national land affairs department while Muthwa is a deputy vice-chancellor at the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University.

The FFC is an independent and permanent expert commission that advises and makes recommendations to Parliament, provincial legislatures, local government and other organs of state on financial and fiscal matters. - Sapa