Elon Musk. Photo: Facebook
INTERNATIONAL - Tesla board has named a special committee of three directors to negotiate with chief executive Elon Musk on taking the electric car maker private, although it said it was yet to see a firm offer from him.

The committee, made up of Tesla directors Brad Buss, Robyn Denholm and Linda Johnson Rice, will wade into a deal that has puzzled Wall Street since the surprise announcement by Musk on Twitter last week.

The following is a snapshot of the nine members on Tesla’s board.

Elon Musk is Tesla’s chief executive and  co-founder. He owns a roughly 20 percent   stake in Tesla. He a lso serves as CEO of SpaceX.

Elon Musk Photo: Facebook

Brad Buss served as the chief financial officer of  solar panel installer SolarCity for  two years before retiring in 2016.  Tesla bought SolarCity that year. Buss  was also the CFO of Cypress Semiconductor.

Ira Ehrenpreis is the founder and managing partner of  venture capital firm DBL Partners,  which is an investor in Tesla,  according to its website. 

Ehrenpreis  bagged the first Model 3 car, having  been the first to put down a deposit,  but later gifted it to Musk.

Ira Ehrenpreis Photo: Facebook

Antonio Gracias lead independent director at Tesla since 2010. He is the founder and chief executive  of Valor Equity  Partners. In May this year,  influential proxy adviser ISS  recommended that investors vote  against his election to the board and  called him a non-independent director.

Antonio Gracias Photo: Facebook

Robyn Denholm is the first woman to join Tesla’s board. Denholm is chief operations officer of telecom firm Telstra and the ex-CFO of network gear maker Juniper Networks.

Robyn Denholm Photo: Facebook

James Murdoch is the chairman of Sky Plc and the CEO of Twenty-First Century Fox. ISS in May recommended that investors vote against his election to the board as he is “overboarded” - serving on several other boards. ISS also called him a non-independent director, despite Tesla considering him an independent member.

James Murdoch Photo: Facebook

Steve Jurvetson is the co-founder of Silicon Valley venture capital firm Draper Fisher Jurvetson. He resigned from DFJ in November 2017, following allegations of sexual harassment against him. He has been on a leave of absence from Tesla’s board since then.

Steve Jurvetson Photo: Facebook

Kimbal Musk, is Elon Musk’s brother and the co-founder of the  restaurant chain The Kitchen. Kimbal  has been  criticised for his lack of experience  in the auto industry, as well as his  role as an independent director at  burrito chain Chipotle, which has  faced major health and food safety  issues.

Kimball Musk Photo: Facebook

Linda Rice, is the First African-American and second  woman to join Tesla’s board. She is the current  chairperson of Johnson Publishing Co,  which previously owned Ebony and Jet  magazines.

Linda Rice Photo: Facebook