Picture: Phill Magakoe/African News Agency (ANA) Archives
Cape Town - Racial slurs marred one of the three ANC Western Cape regional conferences at the weekend, but there is still no clear sign as to when the party will elect a permanent provincial leader.

The Overberg regional conference was called off after branch delegates became too disruptive for it to proceed.

The West Coast ninth regional conference held in Citrusdal saw incumbent chairperson Siyabulela Gxabalashe and secretary Neville Delport re-elected to their positions. The deputy chairperson is Bianca Mankay.

She was aligned with disgraced former Cederberg mayor Jonas White. White and Mankay were released on R1000 bail each. The deputy secretary is Bulelani Penxa and regional treasurer is Danville Smith.

Delport said the region was aiming at greater strength and unity.

“We also wish to reaffirm our commitment to the plight of the working class, farmworker issues, support for the land expropriation without compensation process, and our call for economic emancipation as part of our three-year programme of action,” he said.

“The ANC wishes to engage on a number of programmes, including political education of our branches, being an effective opposition in municipal councils, and reaching out to work with local organisations and the rest of our 47 wards in our region.

“Our public representatives in council must at all times be accountable to branches, while councillors must act within the framework of the ANC constitution and be available to communities and respond to the issues,” Delport said.

But the conference was marred by racial slurs when ANC West Coast member Sammy Claasen claimed that he and other coloured people were not allowed at the regional conference.

“I was racially insulted by a fellow ANC member because I’m Khoi or coloured. The Africanist minority in the ANC West Coast and Western Cape has rejected the coloureds. We are a non-issue and a non-people to them,” he said.

Claasen said he would lodge a complaint with the South African Human Rights Commission and share more insights at a press briefing today.

In the Central-Karoo the new chairperson is Quinton Louw, while secretary Windy Plaatjies retained his position. ANC Youth League regional member Elze Olivier was voted in as deputy secretary.

In the Southern Cape, branches elected Jovan Bruinders as regional chairperson; the deputy chairperson is Nondumiso Magopheni.

Regional secretary Mzwanele “Major” Sokopo retained his position while his deputy is Aseza Gungubele. The regional treasurer is Beauty Stoffels.

Provincial secretary Faiez Jacobs said the Overberg conference was postponed until Thursday.


[email protected]

Cape Argus