Czech Republic beats San Marino in qualifier

By Time of article published Oct 7, 2006

Share this article:

Liberec, Czech Republic - Jan Koller and Milan Baros scored two goals each on Saturday to

lead the Czech Republic to a 7-0 win over San Marino in a European Championship qualifier.

Marek Kulic scored his first international goal in the 15th minute of the Group D match with a swerving drive from 18 meters (yards). Kulic collected a ball that bounced off the crossbar after Marek Jankulovski's long range attempt.

Jan Polak added another from close range seven minutes later, and Koller diverted a cross from David Jarolim from the right to an unmarked Baros in the area to make it 3-0.

Two minutes before halftime, Baros set up Koller's first goal.

The tall striker rose in the area to head in Baros' cross from the right, making it 4-0 with his national record 45th goal in 73


The hosts, fielding an unusual 4-3-3 formation with Kulic teaming up with Koller and Baros in front, dominated San Marino.

Goalkeeper Federico Valentini saved a number of chances throughout the game played in front of 9,500 fans.

In the 49th, Jarolim scored his first international goal in his sixth appearance for the Czech Republic with a low shot from 10

meters (yards). Koller then added his 46th international goal three minutes later, finding an empty net from inside the area.

Baros added his second to stretch the lead to 7-0 in the 68th with a header from close range off a cross from Koller.

The Czech Republic, with a maximum nine points, plays Ireland in Dublin on Wednesday, while San Marino - which lost to Germany 13-0 on Sept. 6 -travels to Ireland for its next qualifier on Nov. 15.


Czech Republic: Petr Cech, Tomas Ujfalusi, Zdenek Grygera, David

Rozehnal (Tomas Zapotocny, 46), Marek Jankulovski, David Jarolim,

Tomas Rosicky (Jaroslav Plasil, 64), Jan Polak, Milan Baros, Jan

Koller, Marek Kulic (David Lafata, 46).

San Marino: Federico Valentini, Nicola Albani, Alessandro Della

Valle, Simone Bacciocchi, Matteo Andreini (Paolo Mariotti, 82),

Carlo Valentini, Damiano Vannucci, Mattia Masi (Federico

Crescentini, 69), Marco Domeniconi, Michele Moretti (Manuel Marani,

54), Andy Selva. - Sapa-AP

Share this article: