London - International XI captain Brian Lara won the toss and elected to field in the Tsunami Appeal one-day match at Lord's on Tuesday.

The two teams for the match are drawn from eight of the Test playing nations although England and Bangladesh do not have any representatives as they are preparing for the upcoming one-day series, while Shane Warne is Australia's sole player as he is not involved with their one-day squad.

The match is the second cricket appeal fixture to be staged.

In January an Asian XI took on a World XI in Melbourne in front of more than 70 000 people.

On December 26 2004 a tsunami caused the deaths of hundreds of thousands as well as massive destruction of homes and property.


MCC: Stephen Fleming (NZL, capt), Chris Gayle (WIS), Sourav Ganguly (IND), Venkatsai Laxman (IND), Jacques Kallis (RSA), Andy Flower (ZIM), Kumar Sangakkara (SRI, wkt), Shaun Pollock (RSA), Anil Kumble (IND), Harbhajan Singh (IND), Shoaib Akhtar (PAK)

International XI: Brian Lara (WIS, capt), Sanath Jayasuriya (SRI), Virender Sehwag (IND), Graeme Smith (RSA), Rahul Dravid (IND, wkt), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WIS), Chris Cairns (NZL), Shane Warne (AUS), Chaminda Vaas (SRI), Mohammad Sami (PAK), Makhaya Ntini (RSA)

Umpires: Darrell Hair (AUS), John Holder (ENG)

TV umpire: Nigel Plews (ENG)