Photo: Stephen Granger

Cape Town – A total of 2 000 runners from all corners of Cape Town celebrated the Day of Reconciliation in style in Gugulethu early today, completing the annual 10km and 4km races through the streets of the historic township.  

This year’s race was in memory of American student Amy Biehl, who had died in Gugulethu in the 1980s.

Goodwill abounded as delighted children, lining the streets in support of the kaleidoscope of running humanity, benefited from the many “Father Christmases”, participants handing out sweet gifts to the youngsters.

As in 2017, UWC’s Anthony Timoteus was again involved in a sprint to the tape for line honours. Last year he lost out by just a second to UJ’s Jermony Andreas, but this year there was no stopping him, with Timoteus getting the better of Atlantic’s Vuyolwethu Mbukushe in the final sprint to win by four seconds in exactly 30 minutes.

Timoteus and fellow UWC student Rowhaldo Ratz had set the early pace together with Mbukushe, with the trio already having opened a gap on their pursuers at the Gugs 7 Memorial at 4km.

Ratz fell behind in the last 2km, leaving Timoteus and Mbukushe to fight out the final 400m on the grass at the NY49 Stadium, home to race organisers RCS Gugulethu Running Club.

Zimbabwe-born Langa athlete Fortunate Chidzivo benefited from the absence of the winner for the past two years, Zintle Xiniwe, improving on her 2017 time by 20 seconds to win the women’s competition in 35min 42sec, the fastest winning time in several years.

Chidzivo proved too strong for Tygerberg’s Leanda du Bruyn, winning by 37 seconds, with K-Way VOB’s Pamela Mohikwa third two minutes further in arrears.

Itheko’s John September retained his title in the 50 age group Master’s category, winning in 35:54 – two seconds faster than last year.

Nedbank’s Olga Howard took the 60 age group title in 43:47 in one of the performances of the day, her time almost two minutes faster than that of Mariette Strauss, the best of the fifties.

It proved a good day for K-Way VOB, with the club bagging both the men’s and women’s team titles.


Men: 1 Anthony Timoteus (UWC) 30:00; 2 Vuyolwethu Mbukushe (AAC) 30:04; 3 Rowhaldo Ratz (AAC) 30:20; 4 Nkosinathi Madyo (Itheko) 31:19; 5 Amos Nyongo (Boxer) 31:30; 6 Carlo Flink (Itheko) 31:56

Juniors: 1 Flink; 2 Edward Jack (Central) 33:26; 3 inga Ngwedula (Satori) 33:35

Masters: +40 yrs: 1 Vakalisa Kopolo (Ned WP) 33:58; 2 Bonisile Ngculana (K-Way VOB) 34:15; 3 Quinton Swart (MP Titans) 36:34; + 50 yrs: 1 John September (Itheko) 35:54; 2 Andrew Cooper (Ned WP) 36:12; 3 Eric Coetzee (Tmp lic) 38:01; +60yrs: 1 Muhammed Kriel (O'draai) 39:24; 2 Paul Cieverts (Topform) 43:13; 3 Stephen Granger (K-Way VOB) 46:07; +70yrs: 1 Franklin Smith (Celtic) 55:41; 2 Jeff Smith (Itheko) 55:57; 3 Yusuf Gamieldien (Itheko) 1:01:46

Teams: 1 K-Way VOB (Ngculana; Bulelane Bhebha; Nelson Bass; Sibulele Ngalo) 2:22:26

Women: 1 Fortunate Chidzivo (Ned WP) 35:42; 2 Leanda du Bruyn (Tyg) 35:19; 3 Pamella Moyikwa (K-Way VOB) 38:23; 4 Nocwaka Mthetha (MSA) 39:50; 5 Nolubabalo Dyonase (K-Way VOB) 40:40; 6 Jenna Kamps (Langa).

Juniors: 1 Emihle Ntuthu (K-Way VOB) 46:11; 2 Buhle Mtshabe (K-Way VOB) 47:37; 3 Olivia de Ruiters (Eerste Riv) 49:22

Masters: +40yrs: 1 Busisiwe Matiwane (Ned WP) 42:28; 2 Sharon Sunderland (Ned WP) 43:22; 3 Megan Goliath (B’fell) 48:10; +50yrs: 1 Mariette Strauss (Tyg) 45:36; 2 Cailey Bredenkamp (Paarl) 52:45; 3 Linda du Bruin (Tyg) 54:01; + 60yrs: 1 Olga Howard (Ned WP) 43:47; 2 Nancy Will (Pine) 45:53; 3 Bev Charters (K-Way VOB)  49:34; +70yrs: 1 Pixie Sparg (Cel) 59:16; 2 Marlene James (Pine) 1:04:37; 3 Mariaane Nelson (D’ville) 1:09:33

Teams: 1 K-Way VOB (Moyikwa; Phitiswa Dalane; Ntuthu; Mtshabe) 2:55:55.