Amanda Black.Picture: Dumisani Sibeko
The nominees for the 16th Metro FM Music Awards were announced at a star studded affair - held at The Forum in Johannesburg on Tuesday night. 
Celebrities, including Kelly Khumalo, Nadia Nakai, Robbie Malinga and Lalla Hirayama were in attendance. 
This year's awards will be held at the Durban ICC Area for the fifth year now and is themed “What’s next is all that matters”. 
Speaking at the announcement, Metro FM station manager, Sibongile Mtyali said, “In 2016 we were still being legendary, but this time around we are not just proclaiming ‘Legends Don’t Stop, They Ask What’s Next’, we are solidifying that statement by anchoring it and pronouncing ‘What’s Next is All That Matters. 
Now is the time to push harder than ever before, to learn lessons, to shatter those glass ceilings and be better than your best”.

Mtyali also confirmed that Durban would play host to 2017 Metro FM Musica Awards as well.

New kids on the block Amanda Black and Babes Wodumo cemented their new found status in the industry with a raft of nominations, while outspoken hip hop heavyweight AKA received just one. 
Rapper Kwesta made his presence felt with nominations for Best Hip Hop album and Song of the Year, while gospel star Lebo Sekgobela received nominations in the Best Urban Gospel Album, Best Female and Song of the Year categories. 

Here is a full list of the nominees:

Best African Pop Album
Musa - Mr Serious
Amanda Black - Amazulu
Vusi Nova - Naninina
Soul Kulture - Ngeliny’langa
Sjava - Isina Muva 

Best Collaboration 
Ms Pru - Ameni
Bucie - Rejoice 
Dj Speedsta - Mayo 
Kwesta - Mayibabo

Best Compilation Album 
DJ Tokzen - Mthi’s Essential Selection 7
DJ Qness - Essentional Selection 
DJ Fresh - Fresh House Flava Volumne 9

Best Dance Album 
Babes Wodumo - Gqom Queen 
Dr Malinga - Goodwill 
Mobi Dixon - Live the Music 
Mpumi - The Birth of Mpumi
Dj Merlon - Original Copy 

Best Female Album
Amanda Black - Amazulu 
Babes Wodumo - Gqom Queen 
Kelly Khumalo - My Truth 
Lebo Sekgobela - Restored 
Brenda Mntambo - So Much Love 

Best Group 
Jaziel Brothers - Out of the Box 
The Soil - Echoes of Kofifi
Soul Kulture - Ngeliny’ilanga 
Durbans Finest - Reloaded 
Encore - Encore 

Best Single 
Citi Lyts - Vura
Riky Rick - Sidlukotini
AKA - One Time 
Ms Pru - Ameni
DJ Speedsta - Mayo

Best Hip Hop Album 
Kwesta - Dakar
A Reece - Paradise
Anatii - Artifact 
Nasty C - Bad Hair Extensions 
DJ Slique - Inayam

Best Kwaito Single 
Mshoza - Abantu Bam
L’vovo - Amatin Tin 
Sosha - Good Times 
Vetkoek & Mahoota - Sohamba Ngo

Best Male Album
Nasty C - Bad Hair Extensions 
Kwesta - Dakar 
Sjava - Isina Muva 
Mobi Dixon - Live the Music
A Reece - Paradise 

Best New Artist 
Babes Wodumo - Gqom Queen 
Amanda Black - Amazulu 
Nasty C - Bad Hair Extensions 
Sjava - Isina Muva
Soul Kulture - Ngeliny’ilanga 

One Africa Award 
Tekno - Pana (Nigeria)
Vee Mamoeezy - I Do (Botswana)
Tiwa Savage - If I Start To Talk (Nigeria)
Kommanda Obbs - Ke Tauwa (Lesotho)
Patoranking - No Kissing (Nigeria)

Song of the Year
Babes Wodumo - Wololo
Musa & Robbie Malinga - Mthande
Kwesta - Ngud
Amanda Black - Amazulu 
Dr Malinga - Akulaleki 
Durbans Finest - Umsindo 
King Monada - Ska Bhora Moreki 
Nasty C - Hell Naw
Lebo Sekgobela - Lion of Judah 
Black Motion - Imali 

Best Gospel Album 
Dr Tumi - Love & Grace 
Lebo Sekgobela - Restored 
Joyous Celebration - Joyous Celebration 20
Mmuso - We Will Worship 
Khaya Mthethwa - The Dawn 

Best R&B Single 
Amanda Black - Separate 
Floda - Decapitate Me 
Charlie Mindgames - As Long As You
Zonke - Funky Lovin 
Joocy - Thathinhliziyo

Best Remixes 
DJ Ganyani – Talk To Me
Prince Kaybee – Don’t Give Up
Thee Legacy – Wena Wedwa (Remix)
Bob’ezy – Close To You
Thee Legacy – S’thandwa Sami Remix

Best Urban Jazz Album
Jimmy Dludlu – In The Groove
Brenda Mntambo – So Much More
Thandiswa – Belede
Hugh Masekela – No Borders
Henry Philemon – Man Of Definition

Best Music Video
Du Boiz – Dope Dream
Benchmarq – All On Me
Khuli Chana – One Source
Mafikizolo – Kucheza
Anatii – Jump