Independent Online

Sunday, May 22, 2022

Like us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterView weather by locationView market indicators

Apple Music launches 'Africa to the World'

AKA. Picture: Instagram

AKA. Picture: Instagram

Published Mar 1, 2021


Apple Music has launched “Africa to the World”, a definitive collection of original and exclusive content from some of Africa's biggest superstars.

These include Burna Boy, Wizkid, Davido, Nasty C, Tiwa Savage and AKA, as well as the continent's hottest emerging talents, like Tems, Elaine, Fireboy DML, Sha Sha, Joeboy and Omah Lay.

Story continues below Advertisement

“Africa to the World”’s mission extends beyond music to art, with renowned South African illustrator and street artist Karabo Poppy (of Soweto Towers, Nike and Budweiser fame) the genius behind the campaign’s striking artwork.

“Africa to the World” includes every episode of “Africa Now Radio with Cuppy”, which features exclusive interviews with Davido, Tiwa Savage, Nasty C, Mr Eazi, Cassper Nyovest, Fireboy DML, Yemi Alade and Olamide.

It also features exclusive radio and video interviews with Apple Music 1's Ebro Darden, Nadeska, Dotty, Cuppy and Zane Lowe speaking to Grammy-nominated singer-songwriter Burna Boy, Wizkid, Tems, Tiwa Savage, Black Coffee, DJ Spinall, Simi, Amaarae and AKA.

Apple Music’s Song Stories dive into the creative process and inspirations behind the hits from artists such as Omah Lay, Burna Boy, Joeboy, Davido, Elaine, Adekunle Gold and Sha Sha.

Africa to the World, a definitive collection of original and exclusive content from some of Africa's biggest superstars. Picture: Supplied

Exclusive guest playlists from Africa's biggest artists and personalities including Don Jazzy, Denola Grey, Angelique Kidjo, Karabo Poppy, Amadou & Mariam, Israel Adesanya, Henry Oyekuru, Boity, Nandi Madida, Sho Madjozi, Master KG, Diamond Platnumz and Sauti Sol also reside within the collection.

“Africa to the World” also houses Apple Music 1's One Mixes from some of the continent's biggest DJs, such as DJ Maphorisa, Kabza De Small, Black Coffee, Prince Kaybee and Black Motion.

Story continues below Advertisement

Exclusive Boiler Room mixes from DBN Gogo, Major League Djz, Da Capo and Kid Fonque and track-by-track artist interviews from Burna Boy, Elaine, Mi Casa, AKA and Sun-El Musician are included.

It will also have original documentaries on Nasty C, Joeboy, DJ Maphorisa, Mr Eazi and Ebro in South Africa.

Related Topics: