President Cyril Ramaphosa at the 24th Annual South African Music Awards at the Sun City Super Bowl, Sun City. Picture: Ntswe Mokoena (GCIS)
President Cyril Ramaphosa at the 24th Annual South African Music Awards at the Sun City Super Bowl, Sun City. Picture: Ntswe Mokoena (GCIS)
Picture: Ntswe Mokoena (GCIS)
Picture: Ntswe Mokoena (GCIS)
Picture: Ntswe Mokoena (GCIS)
Picture: Ntswe Mokoena (GCIS)
Picture: Ntswe Mokoena (GCIS)
Picture: Ntswe Mokoena (GCIS)
Picture: Ntswe Mokoena (GCIS)
Picture: Ntswe Mokoena (GCIS)

Sun City - Shekhinah went for rose gold and took home three statuettes from the 24th annual South African Music Awards (Samas) on Saturday night. The singer-songwriter was the most nominated act at this year’s awards, with six nominations for her debut album Rose Gold.

But she was beaten by Joyous Celebration, who were the biggest winners on the night.

The gospel group won four awards, all of which were a direct result of sales.

Joyous Celebration won the Capasso best-selling digital download composer’s award, the best-selling DVD of the year award, the best-selling digital artist of the year award and the best-selling album of the year award for Joyous Celebration Volume 21: Heal Our Land.

But all eyes were on President Cyril Ramaphosa, who opened the show, and later together with the Minister of Arts and Culture Nathi Mthethwa conferred Mbongeni Ngema, Steve Kekana and Letona “Spokes H” Hlatshwayo Spokes (posthumous) with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Ramaphosa also handed out the International Achievement Award to Shashika Mooroth.

While some acts were voted for by the public based on popularity - in cases such as the record of the year - the Samas' judges cast their votes for the rest of the categories.

Sales awards mean the fans putting their money where their mouths are.

The glittering, televised ceremony took place at the Superbowl at Sun City.

Veteran host Somizi Mhlongo was the main presenter for the awards and shared the stage with Metro FM DJ and reality television star Dineo Ranaka and comedian Mpho Popps.

Shekhinah said she was thrilled to win newcomer of the year, female artist of the year and the album of the year awards.

Other artists who won three awards each include Sun-El Musician, for his collaboration with Samthing Soweto.

The duo produced the 2017 smash single Akanamali.

Sun-El won the Samro highest airplay composer’s award, best collaboration and the Sampra highest airplay song of the year awards.

Mafikizolo also won three Samas.

Afro-pop duo Nhlanhla Nciza and Theo Kgosinkwe released their album 20, to celebrate their two decades in the music industry. It was no surprise that they won the best Afropop album award.

They also took home the awards for duo or group of the year and best engineered album.

As at every awards ceremony, some category winners left the audience perplexed.

One such category was the best African artist album. The award went to The Simphiwe Dana Symphony Experience by Simphiwe Dana.

This was surprising because the category is designed to shed light on music from the rest of the continent, and if one looks at factors such as popularity, airplay, sales and performances, there are other artists in that category who seem to be more popular and are played in this country way more than Dana.

After all, she was up against Niniola for This Is Me, Zoe Modiga for Yellow The Novel, Moreira Chonguica & Manu Dibango for M&M and Wizkid for Sounds from the Other Side.

This is not to say Dana doesn’t deserve the award as she is certainly in a league of her own

But music from the rest of the continent should be highlighted in this category.

Categories such as best kwaito album were rightly taken by Busiswa for her debut album Highly Flavoured.

This artist is one to watch and her career promises to have lon- gevity in the music industry.

The best jazz album category was deservedly won by Nduduzo Makhathini for Ikhambi.

Here's the full list of winners:

Newcomer of the Year: Shekhinah for  ‘Rose Gold’

Male Artist of the Year: Prince Kaybee for ‘I am Music’

Female Artist of the Year: Shekhinah for ‘Rose Gold’

Duo or Group of the Year: Mafikizolo for ‘20’

Album of the Year: ‘Rose Gold’ by Shekhinah

SAMRO Highest Airplay Composer's Award: Sun-EL Musician ft Samthing Soweto for ‘Akanamali’ composed by Sanele “Sun-El Musician” Sithole

CAPASSO Best Selling Digital Download Composer’s Award: Joyous Celebration for ‘Joyous Celebration Volume 21: Heal Our Land’ composed by Timothy Bambelela Myeni

Best Selling Digital Artist of the Year: Joyous Celebration for ‘Joyous Celebration Volume 21: Heal Our Land’

SAMPRA Highest Airplay Song of the Year: ‘Akanamali’ by Sun-EL Musician ft Samthing Soweto   

Best Selling DVD of the Year: ‘Joyous Celebration Volume 21: Heal Our Land’ by Joyous Celebration                     

Best Selling Album of the Year: ‘Joyous Celebration Volume 21: Heal Our Land’ by Joyous Celebration    

Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr Mbongeni Ngema,   Adv Steve Kekana , Letona “Spokes H” Hlatshwayo Spokes                

International Achievement Award: Shashika Mooruth                                         

Best Rock Album: ‘Selfmedikasie’ by Fokofpolisiekar                     

Best Pop Album: ‘The Beautiful Madness’ by TRESOR                     

Beste Pop Album: ‘Laat Die Dansvloer Brand’ by Kurt Darren                     

Best Adult Contemporary Album: ‘Symphonic Soweto’ by Wouter Kellerman and the Soweto Gospel Choir                    

Beste Kontemporêre Musiek Album:  ‘Skepe’ by Jo Black                     

Best African Adult Contemporary Album: ‘Ilanga’ by Siseko Pame                        

Best Alternative Music Album: ‘Mangaliso’ by Bongeziwe Mabandla                   

Best R&B/Soul/Reggae Album: ‘Relationships’ by Afrotraction                   

Best Hip Hop Album: ‘Yellow’ by Shane Eagle                 

Best Kwaito Album: ‘Highly Flavoured’ by Busiswa                   

Best Dance Album: ‘King Zamar’ by Lady Zamar                     

Best Traditional Faith Music Album: ‘Andile KaMajola Chapter 8 Sekwanele’ by Andile KaMajola                  

Best Contemporary Faith Music Album:  ‘Heaven's Ways’ by Nqubeko Mbatha                        

Best African Indigenous Gospel Album: ‘Samson Aphi Amandla Akho’ by Vuma Zion                   

Best African Artist Album: ‘The Simphiwe Dana Symphony Experience’ by Simphiwe Dana                     

Best Traditional Music Album: ‘Jessica Mbangeni Sings IGoli Live @ Lyric Theatre Johannesburg’ by Jessica Mbangeni                 

Best Maskandi Album:  ‘6 to 6’ by Abafana Baka Mgqumeni                        

Best Jazz Album: ‘Ikhambi’ by Nduduzo Makhathini                       

Best Classical and/or Instrumental Album: ‘Baroqueswing Vol. III’ by Charl du Plessis Trio                    

Best  Afro Pop Album: ‘20’ by Mafikizolo                       

Best Live Audio Visual Recording / DVD: ‘Red Mic Xperience’ by Donald. Visual recording producer: Robin Kohl                

Best Collaboration: ‘Akanamali’ by Sun-El Musician featuring Samthing Soweto                          

Music Video of the Year: ‘Arumtumtum’ by Rouge. Directed by Alex Fynn                 

Best Produced Album: ‘Late Night People’ by Goldfish. Produced by Dominic Peters and David Poole                 

Best Engineered Album: ‘20’ by Mafikizolo. Produced by Howard Gomba and Themba Sekowe                 

Remix of the Year: ‘I got you’ by Encore. Remixed by Mobi Dixon