Therese Owen

The nominations for the 2014 MTV Africa Music Awards were announced last night at the plush Sands Night Club in Sandton.

It was attended by the who’s who of Africa’s superstars.

The awards ceremony is set to take place on June 7 at the Chief Albert Luthuli Convention Centre in Durban.

South African favourites Mafikizolo and Uhuru topped the list of nominations with Nigerian artist Davido.

Uhuru are riding high with their big song, Y Tju Ku Tja.

They are going head to head in Song of the Year, Artist of the Year and Best Collaboration.

Mi Casa are close on their heels with nominations in Best Group, Artist of the Year and Song of the Year.

South African artists have fared particularly well this year, with Dr Malinga (Best Live Act), DJ C’Ndo (Best Female and AKA (Best Hip- Hop) all being nominated.

In Best Pop they have four out of five nominations – Danny K, Goldfish, LCNVL and Matthew Mole.

The fifth nomination is Fuse ODG from Ghana.

South Africa dominates completely in the Best Alternative category, taking all five nomination places. The nominees are Gangs of Ballet, Michael Loman, Nakhane Toure, the Parlotones and Shortstraw.

The nominations come 10 days before the country’s all-important South African Music Awards, which will be held at Sun City on April 28.

In this event, Mi Casa and Mafikizolo go head to head with six nominations each. The two groups dominated last year’s airwaves with their hits Jika by Mi Casa and Mafikizolo’s two hits Khona and Happiness.

While the winners of the Samas are decided by handpicked judges, the MTV Africa Music Awards are decided by public voting. People around the continent can visit www.mtvbase.com to vote. Voting will close on June 4.

This is the first time the event will be held in South Africa. Previous hosts were Nigeria and Kenya. The KwaZulu-Natal government and the City of Durban are the official hosts.