Ray Phiri pays tribute to Sipho Gumede at the 2011 Sama Awards held at Monte Casino in Johannesburg. There were shocks and surprises last night at the MTN South African Music Awards held for the first time at Montecasino. Big winner on the night was Professor with his uber popular album, University of Kalawa Jazmee. The man vindicated the popular Durban kwaito sound when he won Best Kwaito and Male Artist of the Year. However, the Samas, which were hosted by IT girl Bonang Matheba and the controversial Phat Joe, were not without controversy. Photo: Dumisani Dube, The Star

Liquideep, The Parlotones and Professor were amongst the big winners at the 17th South African Music Awards on Saturday. The Parlotones scooped bestselling DVD, best global chart DVD and Music Video of the Year over the weekend. Locnville won Newcomer of the year and Best Selling Album of the year. The audience was on the edge of their seat during the announcement for Rap Artist of the Year which Amu beat hopefuls like Slikour, Tumi and the volume as well as newcomer Kwesta.

The event, hosted by Bonang Matheba and Phat Joe, featured performances by Die Antwoord, Zakes Bantwini, JR and Rebecca Malope amongst others.