Durban -The South African Music Awards revealed all their nominees on Thursday. The 22 annual SAMA’s will be held at the ICC in Durban on June 4 2016. Tickets will go on sale on Friday 22 April 2016.

The Kwaito category is dominated by Durban artists Big NUZ - ‘For The Fans’, DJ Bongz – ‘Game Changer’, DBN Nyts – ‘Believe’ the list also includes Kabelo Mabalane for ‘Immortal Vol 3’.

One of the biggest categories is the Dance category, which includes none other than Black Coffee for ‘Pieces of me’, which did very well last year. Micasa – ‘Home Sweet Home’, Mobi – ‘Dixon Tribal Soul’, Junior Taurus and Lady Zama’s ‘Cotton Candy’ and Durban’s own DJ Merlon’s ‘Original Copy’.

The best Jazz album category included Marcus Wyatt & The ZAR Jazz Orchestra -for ‘One night in the sun’, Nduduzo Makathini – ‘Listening to the ground’, Benjamin Jephta Quintet – ‘Homecoming’, Amandla Freedom Ensemble – ‘Bhekisizwe’ and Bokani Dyer for ‘World Music’.

Best Classic Instrumental Album category included Wouter Kellerman – ‘Love Language’, Guy Buttery – ‘Guy Buttery’, Deep South – ‘Heartland’, Cape Consort – ‘Christoph Sebastian’ and KZN’s own KwaZulu Natal Philharmonic Orchestra for ‘Mintirho YA SJ Khoza’.

The Best Live Audio Visual Recording category had Jimmy Dludlu – ‘Live at the Emperors Palace’, Krone – ‘Krone 2’, Ntokozo Mbambo – ‘Spirit and Life’, Neyi & Omega – ‘Friends in Praise’ and Benjamin Dube for ‘Sanctified in his presence’.

One of the biggest and most contended categories is the Rap category, which had the likes of Emtee – ‘Avery’, Kid-X – ‘3 Quarter Pace’, Da Les – ‘North God’, Riky Rick – ‘Family Values’ and Zakwe for ‘Impande’.

Beste Afrikaans Pop Album nominees include Karlien Van Jaarsveld – ‘My Hart Jie’, Brendan Peyper – ‘Stop, Wag, Bly Nog “N Biet Jie’, Vaughn Gardiner – ‘Sit Vanaand op herhaal’, Pierre Rossouw – ‘In my bloed’ and Suzannne for ‘Vuurbestaand’.

The Pop album category includes Tresor – ‘VII’ , Lakota Silva – ‘Pop :The mixtape’, Loki Rothman – ‘The way back’, Can Skylark – ‘Overdrive’ and Vincent Bones for ‘Shaded Soul’.

The Rock Album category includes Desmond & the Tutus – ‘Enjoy yourself’ , Francois van Coke for ‘Francois van Coke’, Shortstraw – ‘Youthless’, Karen Zoid – ‘Drown out the noise’ and Saarkie for ‘Reisiger’.

The Best Adult Contemporary Album includes Judith Sephuma – ‘One Word’, Watershed – ‘Watch the rain’, Karen Zoid – ‘Republiek van Zoid Vol2’, Kahn Morbee – ‘Salt’, Josie Field and Laurie Levine for ‘Tigerlily’.

Best R&B/Reggae and Soul Album includes Olwethu – ‘Imbewu’, Zahara – ‘Country Girl’, The Muffinz – ‘Do what you love’.

Best Alternative Music album contenders Petite Noir – ‘La Vie Est Belle/ Life is beautiful’, Sannie Fox – ‘Serpente Masjien’, The Plastics – ‘In three’s’, Moonchild Sanelly for ‘Rabulapha’, Die Heuwels Fantasties for ‘Ja, Nee, Lekker’.

Best Collaboration features DBN Nyts – ‘Shumaya’, Kyle Deutsch and Shekinah – ‘Back to the beach’, AKA ft Burna Boy – ‘All eyes on me’, Cassper Nyovest , Riky Rick, Carpo for ‘Slyza Tsotsi’ and Khuli Chana ft Patoranking – ‘Don’t Lie’.

Best remixed songs included DJ Slique – ‘Do like I do remix’, AKA – ‘Baddest’, Mobi-Dixon – ‘My Sugar’, Mobi – ‘Dixon for Never let me go’ and The Fraternity for Bheka mina ngedwa.

Best Male Artist of the Year had Nathi, Black Coffee, Riky Rick, Emtee and Francois van Coke.

The Best Newcomer contenders are Riky Rick, Emtee, Tresor, Fifi Cooper and Nathi.

The Best Female Artist nominees are Judith Sephuma, Zahara, Fifi Cooper,Karen Zoid and Zonke for ‘Work of heart’.

Album of the Year included Francois van Coke, Emtee, Nathi, Tresor and Black Coffee.

Best Group/Duo of the Year contenders are Desmond & the Tutu’s, Witness the Funk, Marcus Wyatt& The ZAR Jazz Orchestra, Junior Taurus and Lady Zamar and Durban group Big Nuz.

Best Engineered Album had Black Coffee, Brendan Peyper and Zonke.

The Album of the Year was only saw male contenders: Francois van Coke, Emtee, Nathi, Tresor and Black Coffee.

Best Produced Album featured Mark Counihan, Zonke, Zahara,Mi Casa and Sannie Fox.

Best Music Video of the Year had Jack Parrow and Freshly Ground – ‘Army of One’, Riky Rick ft Cassper Nyovest and Anatii for Fuseg, Ifani –Ayadelela, Albairre &PhFatt and Monark for Negatives Deluxe.

Reactions on Twitter: