Dineo Ranaka
Picture: Instagram
Dineo Ranaka Picture: Instagram

Dineo Ranaka to host virtual SAFTAs on social media

By Alyssia Birjalal Time of article published Apr 29, 2020

Share this article:

There will be no red carpet, glitz or glam at the South African Film and Television Awards this year, but actors will still receive recognition for their hard work, just, on a different platform - Twitter. 

Hosted by Dineo Ranaka, the awards will take place virtually on the app from 5pm on April 29, where winners will be announced  in a live broadcast. 

The biggest awards ceremony in SA was initially scheduled to take place at the Sandton convention centre on March 27 and 28, but due to the coronavirus pandemic, the event had to be cancelled.  

The National Film and Video Foundation (NFVF) said in a statement they had since been hard at work, consulting with different stakeholders on how best to deliver this year’s award show.

“It has been an incredibly difficult decision to make for all concerned with the running of these awards. As the NFVF we extend our sincere gratitude to the nominees and creative industry at large for their understanding and patience as we sought to find solutions. 

"While the celebrations for all our winners will be muted this year, it does not take away from all our deserving winners. 

"We consulted widely to find the best possible way of presenting the awards that would still adhere to the lockdown regulations and not put any lives in danger of contracting this deadly virus,” said Makhosazana Khanyile, chief executive of the NFVF. 

For updates on all social media platforms follow, @saftas1 on Twitter and @saftassa on Facebook and Instagram.

Here's a list of the most popular categories and the nominees: 

Best film: Die Verhaal van Racheltjie de Beer; Fiela se Kind; Poppie Nongena

Best actor: Albert Bakker; Johannes Stephanus Bam; Bongile Mantsai

Best actress: Sandra Prinsloo Irene; Zenobia Kloppers; Clementine Zitha 

Best supporting actor: Wayne van Rooyen; Patrick Ndlovu; Thembekile Komani

Best supporting actress: Cintaine Schutte; Anna Martha van der Merwe; Elize Dunster

Best TV drama: Lockdown; Spreeus; The Republic

Best TV soap: Rhythm City; Scandal!; Suidooster

Best telenovela: Arendsvlei; Isibaya; The River

Share this article:

Related Articles