South Africa has just got itself a brand new awards show.

In a first for South African television, M-Net’s Mzansi Magic has partnered with DStv to launch a brand new awards show, the inaugural DSTV Mzansi Viewers Choice Awards. And as it’s name states, these awards will see television audiences determine the winners in the 10 categories. The awards will take place on August 26th and aim to celebrate local talent in the acting, music and even sport industries. The DStvMVCA will include a special recognition award to pay tribute to those individuals whose outstanding contributions have directly influenced the local entertainment scene.Speaking at the DStvMVCA launch in Johannesburg today, M-Net Director of Local Entertainment Channels, Reneilwe Sema, said that, as one of the largest producers of local programming in South Africa, M-Net remains committed to showcasing excellent home-grown talent which viewers have enthusiastically embraced.“Our audiences are involved, loyal, vocal and highly engaged especially in relation to their favourite personalities. Social media comes alive as they share their comments and opinions on the trend-setters, news-makers and heavy-hitters of pop culture. So to be able to organise and host a gala whose entire focus is on those stars, we believe we can give our viewers an evening of stand-out performance, red-carpet glamour and unforgettable truly Mzansi-styled magic,” she said. The launch was hosted by Bonang Matheba who will also be hosting the awards come August.

The categories include, Song of the Year, Best TV Presenter, Best Comedian, Best Actress and Best Actor.

See full list of nominees below:


Best DJ of the Year

Black Coffee

DJ Zinhle

Prince Kaybee

DJ Shimza

DJ Tira

Sports Personality of the Year

Keagan Dolly

Caster Semenya

Akani Simbine

Wayde Van Niekerk

Kagiso Rabada

Best Actress

Thuso Mbedu

Lorica Cooper

Dawn Thandeka King

Masasa Mbangeni

Vatiswa Ndara

Song of the Year

Prince Kaybee - Charlotte

Black Motion - Imali

Bhizer featuring Busiswa, SC Gorna & Bhepepe - Gobisiqolo

Okmalumkoolkat - Gqi  

Musa featuring Robbie Malinga - Mthande

Music Artist/Group of the Year

Lebo Sekgobela

Cassper Nyovest

Nasty C



Best Comedian 

Tumi Morake 

Celeste Ntuli 




Rising Star 

Michelle Mosalakae

Zamani Mbatha 

Amanda Black 


Andile Phehlukwayo

Best Actor 

Ntokozo Dlamini

Warren Masemola 

Siyabonga Thwala 

Sello Maake Ka-Ncube 

Themba Ndaba

Best Radio Personality 


Tbo Touch 

Anele Mdoda



Best TV Presenter 

Robert Marawa

Pearl Modiadie

Phat Joe 

Bonang Matheba 

Thembisa Mdoda