SAFTAs host Thando Thabethe. Picture: Instagram

The 12th annual South African Film and Television Awards (SAFTAs) took place at Sun City this week. Following Thursday’s technical awards, the main event, which was aired live on SABC2 on Satueday night, was a glittering affair.

Radio personalities, Thando Thabethe and Phat Joe were the hosts and the likes of celebrated comedians, Tumi Morake, Angel Campey and Krijay Govender as well as actors like Warren Masemola and were in attendance. 

On the #SAFTAs12 red carpet, Actress @MbauReloaded! What do you think of her look?

A post shared by The A1 (@thea1tv) on

On the #SAFTAs12 red carpet - @MasechabaNdlovu! What do you think of her look?

A post shared by The A1 (@thea1tv) on

Yay or Nay? #Saftas12 #bestdressed #Worstdressed #instafashion

A post shared by BgBlack Clothing (@bgblack_) on

@nfvfsa CEO Ms Zama Mkosi in her beauty! #SAfTAs12 #OurStoriesAreGold

A post shared by SAFTAs (@saftassa) on

Th controversial movie, Inxeba (The Wound), bagged six horns, including  Best Feature Film and Best Actor. Unfortunately, Inxeba's lead actor Nakhane was not in attendance to accept his horn, as he is currently on tour in Europe. He, however, take to Instagram to share a celebratory post with fans, captioned: "nakhaneofficialI’m on the Eurotunnel and I’ve just found out through Twitter that I won a @saftassa for Best Actor In A Feature Film (sic)

The best soap gong went to Isibaya while High Rollers 3 was named the best telenovela. Controversial movie,  cleaned up in the film categories of the SAFTAs. Thesopians and celebrities were dressed in their shiniest garb but the biggest spotlight shone on South African film and television talent last night.

See full list of winners below:

Best Student Film


Best Achievement in Directing - TV Comedy

Johann Vermaak for Puppet Nation ZA

Best Achievement in Scriptwriting - TV Comedy

Karen Jeynes, Tsitsi Chiumya, Sipumziwe Lucwaba and Angel Campey for Puppet Nation ZA

Best Actress - TV Comedy

Carine Rous as Anna in Elke Skewe Pot

Best Actor - TV Comedy

Mandla Gaduka as Solomon in Gauteng Maboneng

Best Supporting Actress - TV Comedy

Linda Sebezo as Gogo in Gauteng Maboneng

Best Supporting Actress - TV Comedy

Schalk Bezuidenhout as Danny Beyers in Hotel

Best TV Comedy

Puppet Nation ZA

Best Achievement in Directing - TV Soap/Telenovela

Phiwe Mkhanzi and Sthembiso Mathenjwa for Isibaya

Best Achievement in Scriptwriting – TV Soap/Telenovela

Colin Howard ,Rosa Keet,Marcel Spaumer,Christine Truter ,Ernst Brōcker,Candice Johannes,Hadley Horne ,Kobus Geldenhuys,Ilse Oppelt,Tinus van Antwerp,Henry Cloete,Amy Jephta,Johann Davis, Theltom Masimila,Tristram Atkins for Suidooster

Best Actress-TV Soap/Telenovela

Jo-Anne Reyneke as Thandi in Broken Vows

Best Actor-TV Soap/Telenovela

Hamilton Dhlamini as Banzi Motaung in Isithembiso

Best Supporting Actress- TV Soap/Telenovela

Tarryn Lamb as Kim Adams in Suidooster

Best Supporting Actor-TV Soap/Telenovela

Pallance Dladla as Jabu Zungu in Isibaya

Best TV Soap


Best Telenovela

High Rollers 3

Best Achievement in Directing -TV Drama

Catharine Cooke,Rolie Nikiwe and Rea Rangak for iiNumber Number

Best Achievement in Scriptwriting - TV Drama

Reabetswe Moeti and Mandla Ngcongwane for  Lockdown

Best Actress-TV Drama

Thuso Mbedu as Winnie on Is'thunzi

Best Actor -TV Drama

Warren Masemola as MaFred on Tjovitjo

Best Supporting Actress - TV Drama

Jana Cilliers as Anna on Die Boekklub 2

Best Supporting Actor -TV Drama

Emmanuel Castis as Chris Spencer on Erfsondes 4

Best TV Drama


Best Documentary Feature

Skulls of my People

Best Talk Show Host

Pabi Moloi on Trending SA

Best Achievement in Directing - Feature Film

John Trengrove for Inxeba (The Wound)

Best Achievement in Scriptwriting - Feature Film

John Trengrove,Malusi Bengu and Thando Mgqolozana for Inxeba (The Wound)

Best Actress - Feature Film

Crystal-Donna Roberts as Krotoa in Krotoa

Best Actor – Feature Film

Nakhane as Xolani in Inxeba (The Wound)

Best Supporting Actress - Feature Film

Nomonde Mbusi as Thobeka Sithole in VAYA

Best Supporting Actor - Feature Film

Bongile Mantsai as Vija in Inxeba (The Wound)

Best Feature Film

Inxeba( The Wound)