David Kau’s Blacks Only comedy celebration will take place this August.

Top international comics Dwayne Perkins (US), Ruben Paul (US) and UK based Daliso Chaponda from Malawi will be joining David Kau’s not-to-be-missed Blacks Only comedy celebration this August in Johannesburg and Cape Town.

Blacks Only Joke Appropriation Without Compensation will also see other local comedians set the stage on fire. 

Brooklyn’s Dwayne Perkins is a vet in the comedy game. His one-hour comedy special Dwayne Perkins: Take Note debuted on Netflix to rave reviews. Perkins has earned a spot in today’s elite class of stand-up comics with several appearances on Comedy Central, Conan and his recurring piece on The Jay Leno Show, Great White Moments in Black History. 

The son of a Malawian politician, Daliso Chaponda came third in Britain's Got Talent in 2017. He began his comedy career in Canada in 2001, later moving to South Africa and then to the UK, where he established himself on club circuit, and appeared at the Edinburgh Fringe.

Californian Ruben Paul is one of the most unique and versatile comedians working today and has performed at The Just for Laughs Comedy Festival in Montreal. Paul's stand up appearances on TV reinforce his versatility as a comedian with performances on Comedy Central, The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson, Lopez Tonight, Showtime’s special Russell Peters Presents, BET’s Comic View, Comics Unleashed and HBO’s Def Comedy Jam to name a few.

Blacks Only Joke Appropriation Without Compensation takes place at The Ticketpro Dome on August 11 and at the Cape Town ICC on August 14. 

Now in its 15th year, it is the biggest and boldest Blacks Only show yet. Aside from the transnational contingent, it features the country’s best comic talent.

The line-up for Johannesburg, August 11, TicketPro Dome

Daliso Chaponda (UK), David Kau (MC); Dwayne Perkins (USA), Kagiso KG Mogadi; Lihle Msimang; Mpho Popps; Riaad Moosa; Ruben Paul (USA); Schalk Bezuidenhout; Sifiso Nene; Siya Seya; Skhumba; Somizi and Tumi Morake.

The line-up for Cape Town, August 14, The Cape Town ICC
Celeste Ntuli, Daliso Chaponda (UK), David Kau (MC); Dwayne Perkins (USA), Kagiso KG Mogadi; Nina Hastie; Riaad Moosa; and Ruben Paul (USA).