Previous winners, Louise with Lilja. Picture: Shining Light Awards.
De Beers Group is pleased to announce the nine regional finalists in this year’s Shining Light  Awards, which recognise emerging jewellery designers in Botswana, Namibia and South Africa by providing them with a valuable platform to build their careers in the jewellery design industry.

The finalists, three from each country, were selected for their captivating jewellery designs from more than 130 entries. Entrants were required to create a jewellery collection that represented this year’s design brief theme of ‘Protecting Nature’s Beauty’,set by Forevermark which recognises De Beers Group’s and Forevermark’s commitment to conservation and sustainability.

The focus of the awards has evolved over recent years, moving away from designing and producing intricate artistic pieces to more commercial jewellery collections, which would appeal to a broader consumer market.

Bluster girl. Picture: Supplied. 

The winners will be announced at a red carpet event in Windhoek, Namibia, on 30 November 2017. For the first time since the competition’s inception, there will be prizes for first, second and third in each of the participating countries.
Winners will receive:  A one-year apprenticeship with Forevermark at its Design and Innovation Centre in Milan, Italy, for the overall winners.

A three-month internship with Forevermark at its Design and Innovation Centre for the  second prize winners. Participation in a jewellery design skills development programme at a regional institution for the third prize winners.

Targeting a niche segment of design students, De Beers Group and Forevermark conducted  regional roadshows and workshops to attract entrants and engage with students across universities and technical colleges in Botswana, Namibia and South Africa.

The 2016/2017 Shining Lights Awards finalists are:

Botswana: Gaone Otsile, Tshepo Dithebele and Mbako Baraedi
Namibia: Richardlee Shoombee, Frans Uunona and Taleni Udeiko
South Africa: Omphile Sibanda, Gabrielle Lourens and Andile Mbeje.