Independent Online

Monday, August 8, 2022

Like us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterView weather by locationView market indicators

Home Affairs extends hours at selected offices in KZN to meet demand over winter school holidays

Extended operating hours at selected Home Affairs branches have been approved to meet demand during the Winter school holidays until mid July.

Former Home Affairs minister Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma shows off her smart ID during a press briefing. File Picture: Masi Losi

Published Jul 1, 2022


Durban - Selected Home Affairs branches in KwaZulu-Natal and other parts of the country will close at 6pm from June 30 to July 15 to meet the expected demand over the school holidays.

The extended operating hours were approved by Minister of Home Affairs Dr Aaron Motsoaledi.

Story continues below Advertisement

Ministerial spokesperson Siya Qoza said the extension of operating hours for the application and collection of Smart ID Cards and Passports excludes weekends.

Qoza said the extension is to meet the anticipated increase in the demand for ID and passport services during the winter school holidays.

He said during school holidays, the Department of Home Affairs experiences an increase in demand for its products, especially parents applying for various enabling documents for their children.

“Parents are encouraged to use the Branch Appointment Booking System to schedule their visits to Home Affairs offices at times that are suitable to them,” said Qoza.

Click here for a list of offices that offer appointment bookings:

Motsoaledi said this extension is critical for service delivery.

Story continues below Advertisement

“It is part of our many strategies to eliminate long queues at our offices while ensuring that people receive the enabling documents they apply for. We will ensure that every client that is inside these selected offices at the time of closing receives services,” he said.

List of branches in KZN which offer extended operational hours:

  • DUNDEE - Office Manager: Ms Girlie Dube. Address: 34 Wilson Street, Dundee, 3000
  • DURBAN - Office Manager: Mr Jabu Mgobozi. Address: 66 Commercial Road, Durban
  • EMONDLO - Office Manager: Mr Muhammed Yousoof. Address: Block B Gobinsimbi Stree, Emondlo, 3105
  • EMPANGENI - Office Manager: Mr Vusi Mjadu. Address: 16 Biyela Street, Empangeni, 3910
  • ESHOWE - Office Manager: Ms Nondumiso Mabaso. Address: Eshowe Mall Osborne Road, Eshowe
  • ESTCOURT - Office Manager: Ms Nsindiso Yengwa. Address: Albert Street, Magistrate Building, Estcourt, 3310
  • HLUHLUWE - Office Manager: Mr Sbusiso Thusi. Address: Lot 99, Zebra Street, Hluhluwe, 3960
  • IXOPO - Office Manager: Mr Xolani Maphumulo. Address: 11 Margaret Street, Ixopo
  • KOKSTAD - Office Manager: Ms Barbara Ndlanzi. Address: 33 Hope Street, Kokstad
  • LADYSMITH - Office Manager: Mr Phumlani Kubheka. Address: 33 Keate Street, Ladysmith
  • MBAZWANA - Office Manager: Ms Lungile Mthethwa. Address: Lot 749 Thusong Centre, Sodwana Road, Mbazwana
  • MTUBATUBA - Office Manager: Ms Nurse Dlamini - Address: Lot 176, Jacaranda Avenue, Mtubatuba, 3935
  • NEW HANNOVER - Office Manager: Ms Hlengiwe Nkonyani. Address: Thusong Centre, Old Main Greytown Road, New Hanover, 3233
  • NEWCASTLE - Office Manager: Ms Minka Terblanche. Address: Hellenic Trust Building, 67 Scott Street, Newcastle
  • PIETERMARITZBURG - Office Manager: Mr Thamsanqa Luthuli. Address: 181 Church Street, Pietermaritzburg
  • PINETOWN - Office Manager: Mr Musa Mngadi. Address: 36 Josiah Gumede Road, Pinetown, 3610
  • PONGOLA - Office Manager: Mr Nkosentsha Ntshangase. Address: 4 Plaza Building, 38 New Republiek Street, Pongola, 3170
  • PORT SHEPSTONE - Office Manager: Mr Terry Kotze. Address: Bank House, 2 Robinson Street, Port Shepstone
  • PROSPECTON - Office Manager: Ms Lindiwe Ngobeni. Address: 1 Prospecton Place, Prospecton, 4110
  • RICHARDS BAY - Office Manager: Ms Bongekile G Mthembu. Address: Kruger Rand Street, CBD, Richards Bay
  • SCOTTBURGH - Office Manager: Ms Rian de Bruin. Address: Lot 232, Alkins Drive, Park Rynie
  • STANGER - Office Manager: Mr Dion Moonsamy.Address: Gobal House, 70 Hulett Street, Kwa Dukuza
  • TONGAAT - Office Manager: Mr Derrick Naidoo. Address: 3 Maharaj Street, Ghandis Hill, Tongaat, 4400
  • ULUNDI - Office Manager: Ms Nomsa Buthelezi. Address: King Dinuzulu Highway, Administration Building, Ulundi
  • UMGENI - Office Manager: Mr Mbongeni Magagula. Address: 350 Umgeni Road, Durban
  • UMZIMKHULU - Office Manager: Ms Gugu Madise. Address: 15 Main street, Umzimkhulu, 3297
  • VRYHEID - Office Manager: Muhammed Yousoof. Address: 208 Church Street, Vryheid, 3100

For contact details and a list of selected branches in other provinces with extended hours click here:

Story continues below Advertisement