Davies on fire as he sweeps past the Kawasakis. Picture: WorldSBK.com

Jerez, Spain - Chaz Davies reigned in Spain for Ducati, taking his fourth World Superbike double of the season with two dominant wins and keeping the championship alive for another week.

Not so in the 600cc Supersport race, as the only rider with a mathematical chance of denying Kenan Sofuoglu a record fifth title, his team-mate Randy Krummenacher, crashed out on lap five, making Sofuoglu automatically the champion.


Kawasaki's Jonathan Rea led into the first corner from second on the grid, with team-mate Tom Sykes and Alex Lowes on the works Yamaha in close attendance - but it wasn't long before Davies moved in on Lowes.

Honda's Nicky Hayden got a less than ideal start after a wheelie off the line slowed him considerably but made up for it by setting a fastest time on lap three as he worked his way up into the top five.

Lowes crashed out at Turn 5 on lap three, and once Davies got out in front the Kawasakis couldn't match his pace; Sykes finished second, gaining important championship points to help close in on title-leading team-mate Rea, who finished third.

Hayden worked his way up to finish in fourth ahead of his Honda team-mate Michael van der Mark, Sylvain Guintoli on the second Official Yamaha, MV Agusta rider Leon Camier, BMW's Jordi Torres (the Spanish rider home) and Markus Reiterberger on the second factory BMW.

BMW privateer Josh Brookes got the best of a four-way fight for 10th with Alex De Angelis (Aprilia) Roman Ramos (Kawasaki) and Lorenzo Savadori on the second Aprilia.



Davies romped away to win Sunday's race by almost six seconds from the Kawasaki duo Rea and Sykes. He pulled an incredible start, storming straight through to fourth as Sykes and Rea led into the first corner, and by the end of the first lap he was in fort and beginning to build his lead.

The Kawasaki team-mates battled it out for second for the remainder of the race, swopping places a number of times as Rea attempted to break free and go after Davies, because a win would have clinched his second consecutive World Superbike title.

But there was no gainsaying Davies' reign in Spain, as Rea and Sykes came home second and third, just 0.137s apart, with Hayden's Honda less than a second further back in fourth - which meant that all Rea would have to do at the season finale in Qatar was to finish 13th or better in either one of the races to win the championship, even if Sykes won both races.

Guintoli put in a solid run for fifth ahead of Honda youngster Michael van der Mark (in his 50th, World Superbike race, Lowes, Torres, Kawasaki privateer Anthony West and Savadori.




Kenan Sofuoglu was crowned 2016 World Supersport champion after his Kawasaki team-mate Randy Krummenacher crashed out of contention for the title, five laps into the race, to become the only rider to have won the title five times - and the first to win back-to-back titles since Sebastien Charpentier in 2005 and 2006.

But he didn't have it all his own way, fending off determined attacks by rookie Niki Tuuli (Yamaha) and Honda's Kyle Smith to come home 2.7s clear after an incident-packed race, with PJ Jacobsen, also on a Honda, closing in the final stages to finish fourth.

Sofuoglu got the hole shot and led from the first corner, focused only on winning his fifth title, while Krummenacher in second tried everything he could to get by and keep the championship alive. The two swopped places several times before Krummenacher tried too hard at Turn 1 on lap five and slid out of the race.

With no other rider in in contention, that meant Sofuoglu became champion as soon as his team officially withdrew from the race, which they did on lap nine.

European Supersport Cup leader Axel Bassani (Kawasaki) got a good start and was was battling for sixth with Jules Cluzel (MV Agusta) and Ayrton Badovini (Honda) until Federico Caricasulo (Honda) crashed out in the final laps, handing Bassani fifth place and the European Cup.

Cluzel finished sixth, ahead of second-placed European Supersport rider Illia Mykhalchyk (Kawasaki), Badovini and Christoffer Bergman (Honda) with Lorenzo Zannetti (MV Agusta) rounding out the top 10.



Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Subscribe to our Newsletter