Tasmin Pepper (31), does her best to get past Jeffrey Kruger (23), a feat she finally managed on the  penultimate lap of the second VW Cup race. Picture: Colin Brown
Tasmin Pepper (31), does her best to get past Jeffrey Kruger (23), a feat she finally managed on the penultimate lap of the second VW Cup race. Picture: Colin Brown

Explosive racing at Killarney’s Extreme Festival

By Adrian Pheiffer Time of article published Sep 11, 2017

Share this article:

Cape Town - Saturday’s national Extreme Festival meeting at Killarney, exploded like a string of firecrackers that would have done Guy Fawkes proud.

The morning began with the Engen Volkswagen Cup where the attractively talented Tasmin Pepper had Shaun La Seservee sniffing at the skirts of her VW Polo, as they crossed the finish line almost side by side, with Jeffrey Kruger close behind in third place. Incredibly, an almost identical battle raged between Syabonga Mankonkwana and Lushen Ramchander for the next two positions.

Their second race began hilariously for everyone except Justin Oates - who went backwards after starting in reverse! It finished more sensibly, with Devin Robertson, Jeffrey Kruger and Tasmin Pepper occupying the podium in that order.

The first Sasol Global Touring Car race finished with a thrilling double photo finish. The first pairing featured Gennaro Bonafede (Sasol BMW) and Michael Stephen (Engen Extreme Audi A3) in that order. They were followed by Simon Moss (Engen Extreme Audi A3), a split second ahead of Robert Wolk (Sasol BMW).

In a magnificent performance, Dawie Joubert (Lotus Exige), was forced  to break the sports car record in order to stay ahead of a pair of extremely quick  Ferraris in the hands if Marcel Angel and Craig Jarvis, in the opening G&H Transport Extreme SuperCar shootout. The Ferrari duo then moved up to first and second in the final race, followed by Joubert in third position.

The first Investchem F1600 event was notable for the performances of two local drivers. Julian van der Watt ‘s victory was his 12th of the season and enabled him to also clinch the coveted national title. He was followed by Cape teenager Joshua Dolinschek in second place.

Although Van der Watt was equally sublime in the second event, Dolinschek was not as fortunate and he took a knock when he was relegated to third place by Dean Venter.

The Midas Clubman starter provided a double surprise for Danie van Niekerk (BMW 325), when he was beaten by Shane du Toit (VW Golf), as well as Michael le Sueur (VW Golf 1.8).

Although Du Toit moved into an early lead in the final he was soon passed by Van Niekerk who then spun off just a lap before the finish. Victory was then reclaimed by Du Toit, who crossed the finish line ahead of Le Sueur, Clint Rennard (VW Golf) and Van Niekerk.

Jaco Schriks was in a class of his own as he went on to take the chequered flag in both Hankook Formula Vee races. Veteran Peter Hills and Siyabonga Mankonkwana completed the podium in that order in the first event, before swapping places in the second.

IOL Motoring
Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter

Share this article: