Charl Arangies, 13, Ford Noble, has a narrow points lead over Vernon Bricknell in the Porsche 993 GT2 in Class GTC1.

The 2012 Pro Tour National series will wind up with a full programme of speed, noise and glamour at Kyalami this Saturday (10 November), with seven racing disciplines in action.

Top billing, of course, goes to the simultaneous staging of the Porsche GT3 Club Challenge and the GT Challenge classes with the overall championship still to be decided.

The situation could not be tighter going into the final meeting, with Andrew Culbert (Porsche 997 GT3 Cup) and Kris Budnik (BMW M3) in a points tie at the top of the log. Competing in different classes, each of the drivers has accumulated 180 points in the previous 16 races in this year's Pro Tour season. They will be fighting it out for the year's top accolade, as will Sun Moodley, who is just marginally behind on points in his Porsche GT3.


There's more unfinished business in the three class championships. In Class GTC1, Charl Arangies (Ford Noble) has a narrow points lead over Vernon Bricknell (Porsche 993 GT2), and the fight could go either way. Class GTC2 will see Culbert and Moodley fighting each other for bragging rights, while Kris Budnik has already sewn up Class GTC3 in his BMW.

There will also be a strong influx of Capetonians, with most Killarney's Porsche GT3 Club brigade having entered the combined showcase event. Top drivers will include Garth Livingstone, Dawie Joubert, Johan Engelbrecht, Craig Jarvis, Oliver Dalais and Durban's Mike Wilson.

There will be promotional hot laps during the lunch period, where lucky ticket holders will get to ride round Kyalami at racing speeds in some of the country's fastest GT racing cars.


Running separately from the GT Challenge cars for this meeting will be a full field of GT Classic competitors, with the new formula set to name its first champion this weekend. Current points leader is George Avvakoumides (Porsche 911) is closely followed by closely pursued by Andrie Bester (Porsche 911), Stefan Puschavez (Porsche RSR), Willem van der Westhuizen (Porsche RSR) and Jacques Viljoen (Porsche Carrera).

Others that will bear watching in the various classes will be Greg Wildman (Porsche 911 RS), Andreas Letnik (Porsche 928S), Andre van der Merwe (Porsche RSR), Vincent Reiche (Porsche Turbo), Markus Minihold (Porsche RSR) and Leon Botha (Porsche 911 RS).


The 2012 SA Formula Vee championship will also be settled at Kyalami on Saturday, with three drivers in with a shot at securing the title. Youngster Jaco Schriks (Rhema 2) has a comfortable points advantage over Greg Wilson (Rhema 2) and Alan Holm (Rhema 2) gojng in - but Schriks must still fetch the title, and strange things can happen in circuit racing finales.

Other drivers who could interfere with the front runners' plans include Scott Temple (Rhema 2), Peter Hills (Rhema 2), Gert Van Den Berg (Rhema 2), Johan Gouws (Mantis) and Symm Grobler (Rhema 2).


This year's Kawasaki ZX10R Masters Cup title already belongs to Stewart Macleod but the runner-up spot will be hotly contested at Kyalami. Pieter de Vos holds a narrow advantage over Brian Bontekoning with Joe Shearer, Johan le Roux and Paul Jacobs all within striking distance, should the front runners falter.

Also in the equation should be Stuart Dale Russell, Raymond Keel, Brian Moldenhauer, Andre van Vollenstee, Tony Klem and JB Schoeman.


The Goldwagen Challenge will visit Kyalami with two of its four class championships for 2012 unresolved. Waldie Meintjes (Polo) clinched the Class A title at the previous event, but the battle for the podium positions is far from over. Carlos Nobre (Polo) will dispute the runner-up spot with Derick Smalberger (Polo), Keagan Blanckensee (Golf 4) and Gavin Ross (Golf 1).

Fighting for the Class B title will be Darren Nathan (Polo) and Rory Atkinson (Polo) - but Elna Croeser (Golf 1), Tyrell Govindsamy (Golf 1), Ryan Tholet (Polo) and Piet Potgieter (Polo) could all interfere with the two title contestants.

Andre Needham (Golf 1) has a comfortable points lead in Class C, chased by Henry van Vledder (Golf 2), Wouter Roos (Polo) and Elke van Vledder (Golf 1).

James Hurley (Golf 1) has already clinched the year's Class D title; fighting for the season's other podium places will be Lyle Ramsay ( Golf 1), Devon Piazza Musso (Golf 1) and Brad Hall (Golf 1).

Another of the day's highlights will be the invitational races for the BMW Car Club Racing Series where more than 20 of the country's fastest BMW drivers will tackle two sprint races, divided into various classes. Entries range from awesome, 450kW turbocharged beasts in the top class to various rare historical BMW racers further down the field.