Ari Vatanen won the 1990 Paris-Daker Rally in this Peugeot 405 T16 GR.

Paris, France - Peugeot will compete in the Dakar Rally in 2015 - for the first time in 25 years.

Race director Etienne Lavigne told a media conference called on Wednesday to release the details of next year's race: “We welcome the return of Peugeot’s lion symbol to the Dakar.”

Peugeot dominated the gruelling rally, in the late 1980s, winning four times from 1987, but pulled out in 1990.

Next year's Dakar Rally will start and end in Buenos Aires in Argentina, covering 9000 kilometres and passing through both Chile and Bolivia on the way.


There will be 13 stages in three countries for cars motorcycles and trucks, starting on 4 January and ending on 17 January, but the rally will not take in Peru this time for budgetary reasons.

It will be the 37th staging of a race that started as the Paris-Dakar Rally and the seventh time it will be held in South America. The the 2014 Dakar Rally started from Rosario in Argentina and finished at Valparaiso in Chile; Nani Roma of Spain in a Mini won the cars section and Marc Coma of Spain on a KTM was the winner of the motorcycle category.