Stewart Macleod clinched the 2012 Kawasaki ZX-10R Masters Cup with a lights-to-flag win in Race 1.

The penultimate round of the 2012 Pro Tour produced national titles, excellent spectacle and some unexpected results at the Zwartkop Raceway near Pretoria on Saturday.


The Kawasaki ZX10R Masters Cup was claimed by Stewart Macleod with three races still to be run. Macleod clinched the title by leading the day's first motorcycle race from start to finish, chased all the way by Brian Bontekoning, Pieter de Vos, Tony Klem, Paul Jacobs and Johan le Roux.

Macleod gave the crowd an encore by winning the second race as well, followed by Brian Bontekoning, Pieter De Vos, Tony Klem, Paul Jacobs and Johan le Roux. Once the points standings have been confirmed, Bontekoning's second place should give him the 2012 Class B title for riders over 45.


Toby Venter took his works Porsche GT3 - the only entry in the Unlimited class - to victory in both of the day's GT Challenge races.

In the first race he was followed home by Charl Arangies (Class GTC1 Noble M400), Mike Wilson (GTC2 Porsche GT3), Kris Budnik (GTC3 BMW M3), plus the Class GTC2 Porsches of Sun Moodley and Andrew Culbert.

Fancied front-runner Deon du Plessis dropped out of contention when he spun his KTM X-Bow at high speed.

Arangies led the GTC1 class in the second race as well, but the Noble developed fuel feed problems two laps from the end and spluttered around at reduced pace. That left Deon du Plessis and the KTM to finish behind Venter. They led home Mike Wilson, Kris Budnik, Charl Arangies and Craig Jarvis (Porsche GT3).


Nicky Dicks (Porsche 964 RS) took the first GT Classic victory, beating George Avvakoumides (Porsche 911), Willem van der Westhuizen (Porsche RSR), Greg Wildman (Porsche 911) and Stefan Puschavez (Porsche RSR).

The second time around, Andrie Bester (Porsche 911) won, followed by Puschavez, Avvakoumides, Van der Westhuizen and Wildman.


Waldie Meintjes (VW Polo) won Class A for the day, ahead of Carlos Nobre (VW Polo) and Derick Smalberger(VW Polo). The day's Class B honours went to Rory Atkinson (VW Polo), from Piet Potgieter (VW Polo) and Elna Croeser (VW Golf).

Andre Needham (VW Golf) was the Class C winner, leading Wouter Roos (VW Polo) and Elke van Vledder (VW Golf).

Finally, James Hurley (VW Golf) won Class D ahead of Lyle Ramsay (VW Golf) and Devon Piazza-Musso (VW Golf).


Greg Wilson (Rhema 2) won the first Formula Vee race from his team mate Scott Temple (Rhema 2), Jaco Schriks (Rhema 2), Gert van den Berg (Rhema 2) and Symm Grobler (Rhema 2). Their task was made easier when veteran Alan Holm (Rhema 2) slid off the road while fighting for a podium place. Wilson's car let him down in the closing stages of Race 2 and he was forced to pit with electrical problems. Scott Temple went on to win from Holm, Van den Berg, Schriks and Grobler, leaving the fight for this year's South African title wide open.

The 2012 Pro Tour season finale will be run at Kyalami on 10 November.