Andrew Culbert clinched the GT Challenge title.
Andrew Culbert clinched the GT Challenge title.
Formula Vee champion Jaco Schriks.
Formula Vee champion Jaco Schriks.

Heading up the schedule at the Pro Tour finale at Kyalami on Saturday were the final two rounds of this year's GT Challenge series with a huge grid of 26 starters.


Going to Kyalami, Andrew Culbert (Class GTC2 Bigfoot Express Porsche GT3) and Kris Budnik (Cedar Isle BMW M3) were locked on the same points at the top of the overall championship with Budnik also promoted to Class GTC2 for this event.

Culbert started his onslaught on a high note by winning the day's opening, 30-minute race from Greg Parton (Drizit KTM X-Bow), Johan Engelbrecht (Porsche GT3), Mike Wilson (Fine Metals Porsche GT3) and Budnik.

Meanwhile Craig Jarvis took the GTC3 category in his Panacea Porsche GT3 Cup from Charl Arangies (Vaal Fluid Systems Ferrari 360) and Oliver Dalais (Marlboro Crane Porsche GT3).

Markus Minihold (Auto Cure Porsche RSR) won the GTC4 class ahead of Kishoor Pitamber (Siris Porsche GT3) and Garth Livingstone (Amrent Porsche GT3 Cup).

The two overall championship contenders (Culbert and Budnik) came together on the first lap of the second race and Budnik's BMW was damaged. Budnik pitted and Culbert took a cautious approach knowing he only needed to score a single point to become champion. Culbert finally finished the race in 12th place, clinching the title en route.

The second race was won by Mike Wilson, ahead of Deon du Plessis (KTM X-Bow), Greg Parton and Johan Engelbrecht. Craig Jarvis took the GTC3 class from Charl Arangies and Loris Chiappa (Morris Ferrari 430) while Markus Minihold again won Class GTC4 from Pitamber and Livingstone.


Scott Temple (Reflex Solutions Rhema) took the opening Formula Vee race from Alan Holm (Lasersprint Rhema), Jaco Schriks (Lasersprint Rhema), Greg Wilson (Reflex Solutions Rhema) and Zaahir Essa (Reflex Solutions Rhema).

The result was enough to ensure Schriks of the 2012 season's national Formula Vee title.

The young new champion scored a fourth place in the second race, following Scott Temple, Greg Wilson and Alan Holm over the finish line.


The first GT Classic race was won by Nicky Dicks (Pinnacle Turbines Porsche RS), narrowly ahead of Markus Minihold (Auto Cure Porsche RSR), George Avvakoumides (Ocean Basket Porsche 911) and Andrie Bester (Century Civils Porsche 911).

Minihold won the second time around, followed by Dicks, Greg Wildman (DIY Porsche 911), Bester and Avvakoumides.


Already crowned 2012 champion Stewart Macleod (Blu Horizon ZX10R) took both of the day's Red Square Kawasaki ZX10R races, providing him with 18 victories from 18 starts this season. In the first race he was followed by Pieter de Vos (Metabo ZX10R), Joe Shearer (O'Mage ZX10R), Tony Klem (Frontier Diamonds ZX10R) and Johan le Roux (Avidan ZX10R).

The second race was affected by a Highveld thunderstorm and shortened to just six laps. Following Macleod across the line were Johan le Roux, Peter Clark (iSolve ZX10R), de Vos and Raymond Keel (BTS ZX10R).


Carlos Nobre (Digit Polo) won Class A of the day's Goldwagen Challenge overall, ahead of Charl Smalberger (Flight Hand Cleaner Golf), Jason Finney (Polo) and Keagan Blankensee (Venditor Golf).

Darren Nathan (Polo) took the Class B victory from Trevor Bland (Polo), Elna Croeser (Giulio Sabatini Golf) and Steve Hurley (Koni Golf). The day's Class C win went to Wouter Roos (Time Mining Polo), finishing ahead of Francois van Zyl (VW Golf), Craig Eekhout (Fresha Golf) and Andre' Needham (Ultra Vision Golf).

James Hurley (H&R Golf) won Class D from Adrian Wood (Afriboom Golf), Devon Piazza Musso (Restonic Golf) and Brad Hall (Restonic Golf).


The invitational Bridgestone BMW Car Club races provided spectacle, variation and some remarkable performances.

Sav Gualtieri took his wild SA Lube BMW M3 Turbo around in a time of 1 minute 46,18 seconds - the day's quickest car lap - and won both of the races.

On both occasions he led home Lee Thompson (Siris Engineering BMW M3), Johan Fourie (Afrox BMW 335i) and Paul Munro (Savspeed BMW M5).


The Pro Tour National Motor Racing Road Show Series will commence its 7th year of action packed National Racing on the 16th February 2013 at the Phakisa Raceway for the first of nine rounds comprising the national calendar as approved by MSA.