File Photo

Taung - Seven people accused of damaging election material at a registration station appeared in the Taung Magistrate's Court on Monday, North West police said.

The trial of Kegomobitswe Kgofimore, Labogang Magabe, Setanyana

Mmusinyana, Thapelo Leiri, Freddy Seruteng, Kagiso Ikeleng, and Thabang Kumanga was postponed to February 17 for a bail application, Colonel Sabata Mokgwabone said.

Three women and four men allegedly forced their way into a voter registration station at Itlameng Primary School in Taung on Saturday around 7.40am

They damaged election material which was prohibited in terms of section (1)(c) of the Electoral Act, Mokgwabone said.

The group allegedly arrived at the school and demanded registration material from IEC officials.

They then allegedly removed IEC banners from the school fence and set them alight before fleeing the scene, he said.

They were arrested on Sunday afternoon. They are aged between 20 and 33.