Cape Town - 140618 - Pictured is the EFF's Julius Malema. The State of the Nation Debate started today and will continue tomorrow as parties debate the address the President made the evening before. Picture: David Ritchie (083 652 4951)

Pariament - Economic Freedom Fighters leader Julius Malema is among the new members of the Judicial Services Commission elected by Parliament on Tuesday, along with the ANC's former chief whip Mathole Motshekga and former Cabinet minister Thoko Didiza.

The other three members elected to the JSC are the Democratic Alliance's Hendrik Schmidt, the Inkatha Freedom Party's Narend Singh and the ruling party's Dikeledi Magadzi.

Schmidt has served on the JSC for several years.

The members of the National Council of Provinces who will also serve on the body responsible for appointing judges are the ANC's Thandi Modise, who chairs the chamber, Tsapane Mampuru, Dikgang Stock and Dumisane Ximbi.

The National Assembly also named South Africa's new members of the Pan African Parliament.

They are the ANC's Pallo Jordan, Hunadi Mateme and Thandi Memela, the DA's Sandy Kalyan and the EFF's Floyd Shivambu.