The Northern Cape Legislature building. Picture: Supplied

Bloemfontein - An African National Congress member was sworn in as a member of the Northern Cape Legislature on Thursday.

Lebogang Motlhaping would fill the vacancy in the governing party’s seats in the legislature left by the resignation of Dave Molusi in December.

Legislature spokeswoman Mpho Masina said deputy speaker Juanita Beukes presided over Motlhaping's swearing-in.

Molusi was deployed by the ANC to fill the post of executive mayor of the Sol Plaatje municipality in 2013.

ANC provincial secretary Zamani Saul said Bongiwe Mbinqo-Gigaba would now be Chief Whip, and Gail Parker would serve as the ANC Whip in the Northern Cape legislature.