An ANC banner with a photograph of Oliver Tambo is seen at the 54th ANC National Conference. Picture: Karen Sandison/ANA

Johannesburg - The delays in the programme of the ANC's 54th National Conference looked to be set to continue on Sunday night, after voting for the new leadership appeared to have been postponed.

The top six leaders in the party should have been elected and announced by last night according to the original programme but the conference has been bedeviled by delays since Saturday, starting with the issue of delegates’ credentials and who could vote following three high court rulings on Friday.

Read: #ANC54: Crunch-time as delegates prepare for crucial vote

Early Monday morning though, delegates began to vote once the treasurer general, Dr Zweli Mkhize, had finished presenting his financial report into the party just after midnight.

Branding posted at the 54th ANC National Conference. Picture: Karen Sandison/ANA

Delegates who spoke to Independent Media said no voting had taken place by midnight.

Two delegates said the ANC's treasurer-general Dr Zweli Mkhize was still delivering his report to the conference after midnight.

A message which was sent on the official ANC WhatsApp group chat for journalists announced late on Sunday that voting would be pushed to Monday.

Read more: WATCH: Credentials finally adopted at #ANC54

However, two delegates said that they had yet to be informed about any delays and their view was that voting would take place.

"There's some confusion out there. Some allegations that voting has been cancelled. I want to inform you that no such decision has been taken by this conference.

"We are told that ballot papers are being printed and we are advised to stay here and vote tonight (this morning). We opt not to sleep,"  one delegate vowed just after midnight.

Just after midnight they were proved right when voting began, with the party’s veteran’s league casting their votes first.

The provinces were due to vote in the following order: Western Cape, Free State, Northern Cape, Limpopo, Gauteng, KwaZulu Natal, Eastern Cape  and Mpumalanga. - additional reporting Bheki Mbanjwa

[email protected]