090314. Congress of the People(COPE) leader Mosiuoa Lekota address his supporters during COPE manifesto launch rally which took place at Bloemfontein Showgrounds in Bloemfontein, Free State Province. 170 Picture: Dumisani Sibeko

Pretoria - Congress of the People president Mosiuoa Lekota arrived at the Electoral Commission of SA's office on Wednesday an hour before the deadline for the submission of candidate lists.

The Pan Africanist Congress turned up about 15 minutes later.

Earlier, around 3.30pm, Agang SA, United Democratic Movement and The Azanian People's Organisation arrived at Election House with their lists and deposit cheques.

Agang SA's chief operating officer Andrew Gasnolar said his party was contesting the elections nationally and in seven provinces.

The party would not contest in KwaZulu-Natal and Northern Cape.

“We are aligned to our structures and decided to only register where we have done real work,” he said.

“We've submitted our lists and paid our deposit.”

Agang SA walked into the IEC office with 16 file boxes.

The deadline for parties to submit their candidate lists and deposit cheques to contest the elections is 5pm on Wednesday.

Those contesting elections nationally had to pay R200 000 and R45 000 for each province.

UDM national treasurer Thandi Nontenja said her party was contesting nationally and in all nine provinces.

“We are settling ourselves up to take two of those provinces,” she said outside the IEC's office in Centurion, south of Pretoria.

She would not say which two provinces.

“We are hoping to perform better in these elections.”

Nontenja and a colleague walked into Election House carrying three files containing the UDM's lists.

Azapo Secretary General Lefoka Kganare said his party was excited to be contesting all nine provinces for the first time.

“This time around we very excited. We are hoping for improved performance and better results,” he said.

The party's presidential candidate was Jake Dikobo.

Earlier on Wednesday, the National Freedom Party, African Independent Congress and the Economic Freedom Fighters submitted their lists.

The IEC sent out a list earlier in the morning of parties who had already submitted.

They are: - African National Congress - Democratic Alliance - Inkatha Freedom Party - National Freedom Party - Freedom Front Plus - African People's Convention - Africa Unite Party -

Minority Front - United Christian Democratic Party - Ubumbano Lwesiwe Sabangoni - Sindawonye Progressive Party - Al Jama-ah - South African Progressive Civic Organisation.