Eight North West municipalities under administration must be dissolved, the DA said. Picture: Courtney Africa/ANA

** This story has been updated **

Mahikeng - Eight North West municipalities under administration must be dissolved, the Democratic Alliance (DA) said on Tuesday.

"The DA is of the strong view that the North West provincial government, which is itself under Section 100 intervention by the national government, is unable to execute its obligations under the Section 139 (1) (b) interventions it has launched into failing municipalities in the province," provincial leader Joe McGluwa said.

"Logic stands that a provincial government under administration will not have the capacity to ensure the delivery of services and ensure good governance in municipalities it has placed under administration." 

He said the municipalities have shown no progress or significant changes since they were put under administration. 

Kagisano-Molopo, Ramotshere Moiloa, Ditsobotla, Kgetlengrivier, Maquassi Hills, Naledi, Mahikeng, Ngaka Modiri Molema District Municipality were put under administration.

North West Premier Job Mokgoro said there was progress in the municipalities that were placed under administration.

He said he agreed that there were a number of policies to consider but believed the intervention from the provincial government was the right intervention. 

"We believe the intervention that we are implementing are the appropriate one," he said.

He said the provincial government was hard at work addressing problems at the affected municipalities.

African News Agency (ANA)