ZimIphi Zimdollar Biyela

Durban - National Freedom Party (NFP) leader Zanele kaMagwaza Msibi and a number of the party’s councillors are contenders for seats in the KwaZulu-Natal legislature or the National Assembly.

KaMagwaza Msibi, who is the mayor of Zululand District, is among the top candidates on the lists for the provincial and national legislatures.

The NFP’s lists have been posted on the IEC website with those of the other parties.

Other NFP councillors who may be playing a different role after the elections include Maliyakhe Shelembe, the deputy mayor of uThukela District Municipality, who, at number one on the province-to-national list, is in a comfortable position to make it to the national assembly.

Others are eThekwini councillors Bhungu Gwala and Muzonjani Zulu, who are at number seven and eight on the national list.

Zulu was arrested in 2012 on allegations of killing an IFP supporter outside the Ntuzuma Magistrate’s Court.

Charges were withdrawn when the National Prosecuting Authority failed to secure footage of the shooting from the SABC. It said charges could be reinstated.

Zulu said he had acted in self-defence.

The NFP lists include a few surprises, with a Maskandi artist and a radio personality among the candidates.

Singer Buselaphi Gxowa is at number 14 on the national list and Ukhozi FM DJ Zimiphi “Zimdollar” Biyela at number seven on the province-to-national list for KZN.

Musical chairs may be in the offing for the IFP in the provincial legislature after May 7.

Its provincial list is headed by the party’s deputy president, Inkosi Mzamo Buthelezi. This may mean he is in line to become leader of the official opposition if the IFP maintains its status as the second-largest party in the province.

The leader of the opposition in the KZN legislature, Blessed Gwala, is second on the list.

IFP leader Mangosuthu Buthelezi tops the national list.

Also high on the IFP’s national list is MP Mario Oriani-Ambrosini, at number three. Last year he revealed that he had been diagnosed with stage four lung cancer.

IFP stalwarts Narend Singh and Albert Mncwango appear on the regional list, while former KZN premier Lionel Mtshali is in a comfortable position at number six on the provincial list.

The Minority Front’s Shameen Thakur-Rajbansi heads the party’s national, provincial and regional lists.

Councillor Patrick Pillay appears in second place on all three MF lists.

All the lists, accompanied by supporting documents for each candidate, will be available for inspection at the IEC offices from today.

Parties and members of the public may object to the inclusion of any candidate. This must be done in writing by 5pm on Tuesday.

The commission will have seven days from that date to make decisions on the objection.

Those who are not satisfied with the decisions of the IEC may approach the Electoral Court by no later than April 10.

By April 15 the court would need to have ruled on any appeals. The commission is to hand over the candidates’ certificates by April 25.

Daily News