Magashule chooses four women for council

Published May 11, 2009


Free State Premier Ace Magashule on Monday announced six new members of the 10-member provincial executive council (MECs) that will lead the provincial government.

Four of them are women.

Magashule said the announcement followed extensive consultation with ANC branches and leagues, alliance partners and other formations.

"Our view is that this team represents our renewed commitment to accelerate service delivery and to reduce the turn-around time for implementing programmes," he said in Bloemfontein.

The names of four provincial departments had all been changed.

The four MECs kept from the previous executive are: Mxolisi Dukwana, who remains MEC for economic development, tourism and environmental affairs and Mamiki Qabathe who remains agriculture MEC.

Former finance MEC Tate Makgoe is now education MEC. The former public works MEC, Seeiso Mohai is now finance MEC.

The Free State's new MECs are: Thabo Manyoni, MEC for police, roads and transport; Msebenzi Zwane, MEC for co-operative governance, traditional leadership and human settlement; Fezi Ngumbentombi, MEC for public works and rural development; Sisi Ntombela, MEC for social development; Sisi Mabe, MEC for health and Custa Khothule the new MEC for sports, arts, culture and recreation.

The new Free State MECs would be sworn in on Tuesday at a public ceremony in the Bloemfontein City Hall. - Sapa

Related Topics: