Mangaung, Free State, South Africa, 18 December, 2012. Kgalema Motlanthe leaves the ANC National Conference afer being beaten by President Jacob Zuma in the election race. Motlanthe must wait to see if he is elected to the ANC's national executive committee. Photo Greg Nicolson/NewsFire

Bloemfontein - A string of high-profile ANC members, including Deputy President  Kgalema Motlanthe, declined nomination for the national executive committee on Tuesday.

Others who said no included presidential spokesman Mac Maharaj, Minister in the Presidency Trevor Manuel, Northern Cape African National Congress chairman John Block, and struggle stalwart Jay Naidoo.

Congress of SA Trade Unions general secretary Zwelinzima Vavi, National Union of Metalworkers of SA general secretary Irvin Jim and National Union of Mineworkers general secretary Frans Baleni did not accept nomination.

Free State ANC chairman Ace Magashule also declined. - Sapa