The ANC's only female provincial premier, Sylvia Lucas, is sworn in. Photo: Danie Van der Lith

Bloemfontein - Northern Cape premier Sylvia Lucas announced her provincial executive committee on Friday.

Northern Cape ANC chairman John Block retained his position as finance, economic development, and tourism MEC.

The rest of the members are: social development Mxolisi Sokatsha; education Grizelda Gcjikela-Lecholo, health Mac Jack; infrastructure and public works David Rooi; sport, arts, and culture Lebogang J Motlhaping; transport, safety, and liaison Barbara Bartlett; agriculture Norman Shushu; environment and nature conservation Tiny Chotelo; and co-operative governance Alvin Botes.

Lucas said she believed the individual members, based on their individual abilities and strengths, would make the Northern Cape proud. She indicated the provincial executive would pay urgent attention to the empowerment of women and youth over the next five years.

The provincial leadership would also strengthen and promote the capacity of all municipalities and encourage all young people to empower themselves by acquiring skills demanded by the labour market, she said.