18 December 2012, ANC 53rd Conference, Mangaung, South Africa. Winnie Madikizela-Mandela

Bloemfontein - Former police commissioner Bheki Cele and struggle stalwart Winnie Madikizela-Mandela were elected to the ANC's national executive committee on Thursday.

The announcement of Cele and former Gauteng housing MEC Humphrey Mmemezi's names were greeted with cheers from delegates on the last day of the African National Congress's national elective conference.

Madikizela-Mandela, ex-wife of former president Nelson Mandela, was second-last on the list of those elected and did not get any cheers when her name was announced. She was top of the NEC list at the ANC's Polokwane conference in 2007.

Delegates snubbed those who contested the ANC's top six leadership and lost, by not electing them to the NEC.

Former ANC treasurer-general Mathews Phosa and former deputy secretary-general Thandi Modise were not elected to serve on the national executive committee.

Human Settlements Minister Tokyo Sexwale, Gauteng chairman Paul Mashatile and Sport Minister Fikile Mbalula were also excluded. Sexwale was number 10 on the list in 2007. The five had automatically been put on the nomination list after they lost in the top six officials election.

The new NEC also included several Cabinet ministers and AU commission chair Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma, as well as ANC spokesman Jackson Mthembu.

Delegates sang as the new members joined the party's top six on stage.

“Siwelewele Zumantashe...!!” they sang in a soccer celebration, stomping their feet, and waving party flags.

With two fingers in the air, indicating their support for Jacob Zuma's second term as ANC leader, they blew whistles and danced.

Mmemezi, who was fired for misusing a state-issued credit card, was one of the new members who got the loudest cheers from the delegates.

So did former ANCYL treasurer Pule Mabe, Zuma's media adviser Zizi Kodwa, and Cele.

Cabinet ministers on the list are Public Enterprises Minister Malusi Gigaba, Public Service Minister Lindiwe Sisulu, Minister in the Presidency Collins Chabane, Justice Minister Jeff Radebe, Home Affairs Minister Naledi Pandor, Science and Technology Minister Derek Hanekom, Finance Minister Pravin Gordon, Police Minister Nathi Mthethwa and National Assembly Speaker Max Sisulu.

Former Reserve Bank governor Tito Mboweni, and former arts and culture minister Pallo Jordan were also elected.

Trade unionists who made it to the NEC were Congress of SA Trade Unions president Sidumo Dlamini, and Nehawu general secretary Fikile Majola. - Sapa