Members of the ANC NEC arrive for the media briefing. Picture: @luyolomkentane/Twitter

Johannesburg - The ANC national executive committee didn't support calls from cabinet ministers that President Jacob Zuma should step down.

ANC consensus on the motion of no confidence against Zuma was reached after a lengthy debate on the matter.

This was revealed by ANC secretary-general Gwede Mantashe during a media briefing in Joburg on Tuesday afternoon.

He said the motion against the embattled president was debated “openly” and “robustly”, said Mantashe.

Mantashe said all the NEC members were “given a right and allowed” to discuss matter, stressing that it was not raised by cabinet members.

The motion was tabled by Tourism Minister Derek Hanekom on Saturday and supported by several ministers including Aaron Motsoaledi, Thulas Nxesi, Naledi Pandor and Pravin Gordhan.

ANC Chief Whip in Parliament, Jackson Mthembu, is said to have also supported the motion calling for Zuma's head to roll.

Independent Media unserstands that those who came to Zuma's defence including ministers Nathi Mthethwa, Fikile Mbalula and Malusi Gigaba, among others.

Mantashe said the NEC resolved to channel it's energies towards unifying the divided ANC


Political Bureau