NEWS JUST IN: Ramaphosa announces #CabinetReshuffle

President Cyril Ramaphosa announces his changes to the national executive at the Union Buildings.

President Cyril Ramaphosa announces his changes to the national executive at the Union Buildings.

Published Feb 26, 2018


Cape Town - Malusi Gigaba has been moved back to Home Affairs, President Cyril Ramaphosa announced in a media briefing at the Union Buildings on Monday night.

Ramaphosa announced Nhlanhla Nene will be taking over the post as the new Finance Minister. 

The changes to Ramaphosa's national executive were announced on Monday evening following the conclusion of an ANC NEC meeting at the weekend.

David Mabuza has been names as Ramaphosa's deputy president.

Other changes include: 

Police Minister: Bheki Cele

Communications Minister: Nomvula Mokonyane

Energy Minister: Jeff Radebe

Higher Education and Training: Naledi Pandor

Human Settlements: Nomaindia Mfeketo

International Relations and Cooperation: Lindiwe Sisulu

Mineral Resources: Gwede Mantashe

Public Enterprises: Pravin Gordhan

Public Service and Administration: Ayanda Dlodlo

Public Works: Thulas Nxesi

Rural Development and Land Reform: Maite Nkoana-Mashabane

Science and Technology: Nkhensani Kubayi-Ngubane

Social Development: Susan Shabangu

Sport and Recreation: Tokozile Xasa

State Security: Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba

The Presidency: Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation: Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma

The Presidency: Women: Bathabile Dlamini

Tourism: Derek Hanekom

Transport: Dr Blade Nzimande

Water and Sanitation: Gugile Nkwinti

New Deputy Ministers:

Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries: Sfiso Buthelezi

Communications: Pinky Kekana

Finance: Mondli Gungubele

Public Service and Administration: Dr Chana Pilane-Majeke

Small Business Development: Cassel Mathale

Ramaphosa said pending the completion of their swearing-in as MPs he would further appoint Mabuza as the deputy president, Zweli Mkhize as Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs, Nene as Minister of Finance and Reginah Mhaule as Deputy Minister of International Relations and Cooperation.

The new Ministers and Deputy Ministers will be sworn in in Cape Town on Tuesday. 

Ramaphosa has been under pressure to appoint a deputy president and to make changes to the Cabinet he inherited from former president Jacob Zuma. 

Opposition parties and civil society have been expressing their unhappiness with a number of ministers that they believe should sacked. 


Some of them include they wanted the president to replace are Mineral Resources Minister Mosebenzi Zwane, Gigaba, Mokonyane and Social Development Minister Bathabile Dlamini. 


Some of these ministers have been linked to allegations of state capture, while others like Dlamini have been singled out by the opposition for incompetence.

On Tuesday, Ramaphosa responded to calls from opposition benches that he fire members of the Cabinet, saying if there is a Cabinet reshuffle, it won't be done at the behest of the opposition.

On February 15, Ramaphosa was elected and sworn in as South Africa's new president by the National Assembly, a day after Zuma was forced to resign by the ruling party.

Ramaphosa, 65, was the sole candidate put forward by the National Assembly and takes up the top post almost two decades after he was favoured by Nelson Mandela as his successor, only to be pushed aside by the party in favour of Thabo Mbeki.

In a short acceptance speech in Parliament, Ramaphosa said he faced a humbling task and would try his best to serve all South Africans.

He promised to tackle corruption and a massive rent-seeking scandal that has lost state-owned companies billions and embroiled Zuma, his son Duduzane and several Cabinet ministers. 


Also read: 

Related Topics: