12/03/2014 A message at the doors of the IEC's offices in Centurion moments after closing their doors following the deadline for political parties to submit their candidate lists. Picture: Phill Magakoe

Johannesburg -

Cope president Mosiuoa Lekota arrived at the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) office an hour before the deadline for the submission of candidate lists on Wednesday .

The PAC turned up about 15 minutes later.

Earlier, at about 3.30pm, AgangSA, the United Democratic Movement and Azapo arrived at Election House with their lists and deposit cheques.

The process allowing political parties intending to contest the May 7 elections to register their intentions closed on Wednesday afternoon.

The 5pm deadline required that they submit documentation, including candidate lists, and pay deposits at the IEC head office in Centurion, and non-compliant ones would have until March 24 to get their documents in order. Some parties walked in as the IEC doors closed.

Chief executive Mosotho Moepya said parties would be notified of missing documentation by March 18. He said: “The clock has ticked, it’s after 5 and the process of submission has closed.”

The IEC will start processing the submissions and capturing lists before notifying non-compliant parties of missing elements.

He said the process to accept parties contesting the 2014 elections had been smooth. “This process has gone very well. It has been better than any we’ve ever dealt with,” Moepya said.

Thirteen parties had submitted their dues by Wednesday morning. The full list will be made available, for inspection by the public at the IEC offices between March 28 and March 31.

“During this period lists of candidates and accompanying documents will be available for inspection, and members of the public and any political party have until April 4 to object.”

There would be no exceptions for parties that had missed the deadline, and as of Wednesday afternoon the process had closed.

AgangSA’s chief operating officer, Andrew Gasnolar, said his party was contesting the elections nationally and in seven provinces.

AgangSA walked into the IEC office with 16 file boxes.

UDM national treasurer Thandi Nontenja said her party was contesting nationally and in all nine provinces.

Azapo secretary-general Lefoka Kganare said his party was excited to be contesting all nine provinces for the first time.

Pretoria News