File picture: Karen Sandison/Independent Media
Parliament – Seventeen names were presented by MPs for nomination to an interim South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC) board on Wednesday.

The ANC nominated eight people.

They are Mathata Tsedu, Rachel Kalidass, David Niddrie, Krish Naidoo, Febe Potgieter-Nqubule, Sulungeka Dazana, Khanyisile Kweyama, and Steve Motala. The Democratic Alliance nominated John Mattison, Tanja Bosch, Mpumelelo Mkhabela, Jack Devnarain, and Michael Markovitz.

Congress of the People (Cope) MP Willie Madisha, said the names on his list were supported by his own party and several other smaller parties, including the United Democratic Party and the Inkatha Freedom Party.

The SABC has been without a board since Mbulaheni Maguvhe, or the "last man standing" as one judge put it, resigned following his disastrous testimony before a parliamentary inquiry into the affairs of the embattled broadcaster. The inquiry was completed last week, with MPs on that ad hoc committee finalising its report with recommendations.

In terms of the law, MPs can recommend a five member interim board, which would serve for a maximum of six months. MPs are set to negotiate over the next few days in a bid to reach some consensus over the five successful candidates.

A meeting is scheduled for next week Tuesday, but MPs said it was unlikely they would agree on the five names by then, before its sent to the National Assembly for approval and ultimately to President Jacob Zuma, who does the official appointments.