Rejoice Mabudafhasi File picture: Oupa Mokoena/Independent Media

Mabudafhasi, who was fired in the contentious March month-end midnight reshuffle, has resigned as MP effective from 30 April 2017.

“Comrade Mabudafhasi who has been a member of Parliament since 1994 has served the people of South Africa with great humility and distinction,” the ANC said in a statement.

“She has expressed her gratitude in having served the people of South Africa and thanked the ANC for having given her the opportunity to do so.”

Mabudafhasi is the fifth ANC MP to quit following the reshuffle.

Other sacked officials, who have resigned their MP positions, include former deputy finance minister, Mcebisi Jonas, former ministers Tina Joemat-Pettersson (energy)‚ Dipuo Peters (transport) and Ngoako Ramatlhodi (public service).