Parliament - MPs will start interviewing prospective board members for the beleaguered South African Broadcasting Corporation next week after Parliament's portfolio committee on communications on Tuesday agreed to a shortlist of 36 candidates.

MPs agreed the interim board made up of chairperson Khanyisile Kweyama, her deputy Mathatha Tsedu, Febe Potgieter Gqubule, Krish Naidoo, John Mattison, would be included on the list.

There was no heated exchanges as MPs agreed on a process which saw another 15 names being agreed upon as they appeared on more than one party's list. 

The committee then agreed the ruling African National Congress could choose eight more from the list of 363 applications, the Democratic Alliance five, the Economic Freedom Fighters two, and smaller parties one each.

Besides the interim board, the other candidates are:  

-- Nomvuyiso Batyi;

-- Rachel Kalidass; 

-- Thabiso Ramotso;

-- Kharidzha Dzuguda Rufus;

-- Michael Markowitz;

-- Wllie Currie;

-- Deenadaylen Konar; 

-- Harriet Meier;

-- Dawn Earp;

-- Michael Bauer;

-- Judge Chris Greenland;

-- Desmond Golding;

-- Mathumo Manaka;

-- Victor Rambau;

-- Tshifhiwa Khoromba;

-- Mcebo Khumalo;

-- Seipati Khumalo;

-- Thidzimba Nethengwe;

-- Cikizwa Dingi;

-- Louise Vale;

-- Yaasir Haffejee;

--Kwanele Gumbi;

-- Jack Devnarian;

-- Bongumusa Makhatini;

-- Nkosana Mbokane;

-- Michael Sass;

-- Jim Matsho;

-- Jack Phahlane;

-- Dinkanyane Mohuba;

-- Leanne Govindsamy; and

-- Sandile Kama

The term of the interim board ends on September 26. They were appointed after a parliamentary inquiry dissolved the previous non-functioning board following findings of mismanagement, irregular spending, and problems with editorial policies, among others.