Communications Minister Nomvula Mokonyane has been sworn in as a Member of Parliament. Picture: African News Agency (ANA) Archives

Parliament - Seven new MPs from the ruling African National Congress (ANC) were sworn in at Parliament on Tuesday.

The MPs are filling several vacancies in the ANC caucus, a statement from chief whip Jackson Mthembu's office said.

"These vacancies were created primarily due to the passing on of some members of our Caucus and the redeployment of other comrades to positions of responsibility outside Parliament."

Albert Mammoga Seabi fills the position left vacant after the passing of anti-apartheid struggle icon Winnie Madikizela-Mandela.

Noxolo Abrahams-Ntantiso replaces Fezeka Loliwe, who died in a car accident earlier in 2018.

Nomvuzo Francisca Shabalala replaces Mduduzi Manana, the disgraced former deputy minister who assaulted three women at Johannesburg restaurant more than a year ago.

Picture: ANC Parliament

The seat of Nokuzola Sisisi Tolashe, who was redeployed to a municipality in the Eastern Cape, will be taken up by Nomvuzo Francisca Shabalala.

Communications Minister Nomvula Mokonyane also becomes an MP, filling the vacancy left by President Cyril Ramaphosa, who ceased to be an MP when he became president in February.

Deputy Ministers Ellen Molekane and Thembi Majola were also sworn in, after the redeployment of former police minister Fikile Mbalula and the resignation of former public enterprises minister Lynne Brown.
African News Agency/ANA