Johannesburg - Supporters of losing African National Congress (ANC) presidential candidate Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma were on Monday, jubilant inside the plenary hall as three nominees from her slate made it into the top six. 

There was a sombre mood from Dlamini Zuma supporters moments earlier after Cyril Ramaphosa was announced as new ANC leader. 

Their celebration started when Mpumalanga's David Mabuza was announced as Ramaphosa's deputy, beating Lindiwe Sisulu with 2538 votes. Sisulu received 2159 votes.

For secretary general, Ace Magashule clinched the position with 2360 votes against former KwaZulu-Natal Premier Senzo Mchunu's 2336. 

Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma claps as Cyril Ramaphosa is announced as the new African National Congress president. MEDIA: Getrude Makhafola/ANA

The last nominee on the Dlamini Zuma slate, Jessie Duarte, was re-elected deputy secretary general, defeating Congress of South African Trade Unions's (Cosatu) Zingiswa Losi. 

The much awaited election results were delayed, leaving delegates with no choice but to sing praises for their preferred leaders. 

Cosatu president then took to the podium to sing "unity songs". 

He was followed now former ANC president Jacob Zuma. 

Ramaphosa received 2440 votes while Dlamini Zuma got 2261 votes. 

African News Agency/ANA