File picture: Motshwari Mofokeng

Johannesburg - President Jacob Zuma has appointed members to serve on the SABC board following recommendations from Parliament. 
Zuma announced the decision on Tuesday morning following days of speculation that he was delaying the appointment of the recommended board members because he was not happy with some of the recommended names. 
But the Presidency has denied this saying the delay was due to a vetting process. 
Some lobby groups had already approached the courts to force Zuma's hand. The EFF had also threatened to take Zuma to court on the matter. 
The following people have been appointed to the board:  

Febe Potgieter-Gqubule
Krish Naidoo
Khanyisile Kweyama
John Matisonn
Mathatha Tsedu
Rachel Kalidass
Michael Markovitz
Bongumusa Makhathini
Victor Rambau
Dinkwanyane Mohuba 
Jack Phalane
Makhathini has been appointed to serve as chairperson of the board while Potgieter-Gqubule has been appointed as his deputy.  

SABC board members will serve for a period of five years. 

* This is a developing story

Political Bureau