President Jacob Zuma delivering a lecture to Princeton University Students in New Jersey. President Zuma is on a working visit to attend the 70th session of the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA70, New York, 27/09/2015, Elmond Jiyane, GCIS

Pretoria – President Jacob Zuma will on Tuesday bestow National Orders on South Africans and foreign nationals who have made significant contributions to advancing the country’s democracy and have made a positive impact on various sectors of South African society.

The Presidency said in a statement that the National Order ceremony was supposed to have taken place on Freedom Day earlier this year, on April 27, but was postponed as at the time the country experienced a wave of xenophobic attacks, mainly centred around Durban and Johannesburg.

The attacks saw four South Africans and three foreigners killed.

The Presidency said the fact that the ceremony was now taking place during Reconciliation Month was significant because it was aimed at making inroads towards “unity, reconciliation and building the nation”.

“It is also a way that government gets to recognise the contributions made by individuals towards building a non-racial, non-sexist, democratic and prosperous South Africa as envisaged in the Constitution,” the Presidency said.

During the ceremony, deserving recipients would receive the Order of Mendi for Bravery, the Order of Ikhamanga, the Order of the Baobab, the Order of Luthuli, and the Order of the Companions of OR Tambo.

The Order of Mendi for Bravery recognises South African citizens who have performed acts of bravery, and recipients who stand to receive this honour are Joe Morolong, Jetro Ndlovu, Caleb Motshabi (posthumous), Eric Mtshali and Mpumelelo Washington Bongco (posthumous).

The Order of Ikhamanga recognises South African citizens who have excelled in the fields of arts, culture, literature, music, journalism and sport, and recipients would be: Themba Patrick Magaisa, Mbulaeni Mulaudzi (posthumous), Darius Mfana Dhlomo, Winnie Mahlangu, Ramakgobotla John Mekoa, Mbulelo Vizikhungo Mzamane (posthumous).

The Order of the Baobab recognises South African citizens who have contributed to community service, business and economy, science, medicine and technological innovation. Recipients would be Yvonne Mokgoro, Douglas John Anderson, Mary Makobatjatji Malahlela (posthumous), Andrew Ross, Otto Stehlik and James David Lewis-Williams.

The Order of Luthuli recognises South African citizens who have contributed to the struggle for democracy, nation-building, building democracy and human rights, justice and peace as well as for the resolution of conflict. Recipients would be Kay Moonsamy, William Frankel, Johnson Malcomess Mgabela, Petros Nyawose (Posthumous), Jabulile Nyawose (Posthumous), Mohammed Tikly.

The Order of the Companions of OR Tambo recognises eminent foreign nationals for friendship shown to South Africa. It is therefore an Order of peace, co-operation and active expression of solidarity and support. Recipients would be Gareth Evans (Australia), Peter Hain (United Kingdom), Ambassador Vladimir Kazimirov (Russia), Gay McDougall (United States of America), Lars Nordbo (Denmark), Ambassador Andrey Urnov (Russia), Tan Sri Dato’ Sri Paduka Dr. Lim Kok Wing (Malaysia), General Hashim Mbita (Tanzania, posthumous), and Brian Mulroney (Canada).