Water utility, Umgeni Water, has applied for an extension of the mandatory 15% water restrictions in municipalities in the Mgeni water system.

Umgeni Water has applied to the Ministry of Water and Sanitation that the 15% water restrictions in the Mgeni system be extended for another 12 months.

The current restrictions require that the municipalities that get water from the Mgeni system - uMgungundlovu District Municipality, Msunduzi Local Municipality, eThekwini Metro and Ugu District Municipality - must produce savings of 15% and consumers must reduce consumption by at least 15%.
Spokesperson Shami Harichunder said the application was expected to be approved and gazetted in the coming week. Implementation would become retrospective to July 1.

The request came after meetings of the Mgeni system Joint Operations Committee, the most recent of which was held on Thursday, July 12, and is in response to concerns over forecasts of below-average rainfall in the coming wet season. 

As an additional measure to support water resource availability in the Mgeni system, Umgeni Water has reduced potable water production by 15% at its Midmar, DV Harris, Wiggins, Durban Heights and Amanzimtoti water treatment plants. 

Areas affected by water restrictions are all of uMgungundlovu District, all of Pietermaritzburg, the greater part of Durban and south of Ugu.  

Dam levels in Mgeni system as of Friday, July 14:
Midmar Dam 76.03%;
Albert Falls Dam: 32.74%; 
Inanda 65.47%; 
Nagle 65.45%; 
Spring Grove 88.2%; 
Mearns 41.46%;
Other dams:
Hazelmere (north of Durban): 114. 61%;
Imvutshane (Maphumulo): 100.57%;
Home Farm (Ixopo): 98.2%;
Umzinto (Middle South Coast): 100.28%;
EJ Smith (Middle South Coast): 100.05%;
Nungwane (Middle South Coast): 99.14%;
Mhlabatshane (Middle South Coast): 94.8%;

* There are no water restrictions in the areas served by the above dams.