Well, fear no more, because WhatsApp’s newest feature could spare you the blushes.
The messaging app has launched its "delete for everyone" feature, and it works like a bomb.
You are now able to delete messages sent to one person or a group.
But it’s not foolproof - you only have seven minutes to delete your embarrassing messages after being sent.
Also, once a message has been deleted, the recipient will be notified, so they’ll know you were trying to save face. They just won’t know why...
The feature works when sending text, voice notes, videos or photos.
You will need to upgrade and get the latest version of WhatsApp for it work, though.
Here’s how to delete a message:
Tap and hold the message you want to delete, then choose “delete” from the menu. You can delete multiple messages at once.
You must then choose “delete for everyone” in order for others not to see your message.
WhatsApp has warned that the messages won’t always be revoked, and you are still in danger of being mortally embarrassed.
“Recipients may see your message before it’s deleted or if deletion was not successful. You will not be notified if deleting for everyone was not successful,” the FAQ reads.