President Jacob Zuma. File picture: Phill Magakoe

Cape Town - President Jacob Zuma on Friday announced the appointment of five new full-time commissioners to the South African Human Rights Commission (SAHRC).

In a statement, the Presidency said the new commissioners would serve for a period of seven years with effect from January 3, 2017.

The new commissioners are Professor Bongani Christopher Majola, who has also been appointed Chairperson of the SAHRC. Majola was one of the shortlisted candidates for the Public Protector position, which was eventually filled by Advocate Busisiwe Mkhwebane.

The other new full-time commissioners are Devikarani Priscilla Sewpal Jana, who will also serve as Deputy Chairperson of Commission, Advocate Andrew Hurtley Gaum, Matlhodi Angelina Makwetla, and Advocate Joseph Bokankatla Malatji.

Zuma also appointed Andrew Christoffel Nissen and Jonas Sibanyoni as part-time commissioners, also for a period of seven years.

“President Zuma wishes the new Commissioners all the best in their new important responsibility of entrenching constitutional democracy through advocating and protecting the basic human rights of all South Africans,” the Presidency said.

“The President also wishes the outgoing commissioners all the best in their future endeavours.”

The National Assembly had last month approved the seven candidates for appointment to the Commission by the President.