Paris iconic 2CV tours feel brunt of COVID-19 impact on tourism
Paris iconic 2CV tours feel brunt of COVID-19 impact on tourism

EU reopens borders, but South Africans CANNOT travel to Europe for now

By Reuters Time of article published Jul 1, 2020

Share this article:

Brussels - The European Union plans to

open its borders to non-essential travellers such as tourists

and most business people from a limited number of countries

outside the bloc from July 1.

The 27 EU governments agreed on an initial "safe list" of 14

countries, which excludes South Africa, the United States, Brazil, Russia and



Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro,

Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand,

Tunisia, Uruguay are on the list. China will be included if it

lets in EU visitors because reciprocity is a condition.

The EU considers those countries to have similar or better

control of the Covid-19 pandemic as the bloc itself, based on

the number of cases per 100,000 people in the previous two

weeks. The EU average is around 16. 

The figures for the United States, Mexico, Brazil and much

of Latin America, Russia, South Africa, Saudi Arabia and Turkey

are too high, according to data from the European Centre for

Disease Prevention and Control.

As well having a stable or decreasing trend of new

infections, countries must have sufficient testing, contact

tracing, containment and treatment capabilities to deal with the

pandemic and containment measures in place for all journeys.

They also need to satisfy the European Union that their data

is available and reliable. Simply having no reported cases, as

is the case with Tanzania, Turkmenistan and Laos, is not enough.


Travellers from the "safe list" countries will potentially

be able to go to Europe and then travel freely throughout the

Schengen area, which includes 22 EU countries, plus Iceland,

Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.

The list will be reviewed every two weeks to add some

countries and remove others. It is only a recommendation to EU

members, who can still impose some travel restrictions. The idea

at least is that they should not open up to other countries.


Although the EU wants to work on the basis of reciprocity,

Britain, which is no longer an EU member, is an exception. It

enforces 14 days of self-isolation on all non-essential

travellers, but its residents have been free since mid-June to

travel to many, but not all, EU countries.

Due to the lack of reciprocity, UK visitors are asked to

carry out a 14-day voluntary quarantine in France. In Greece,

flights from Britain are banned on health grounds.


Travel restrictions are not supposed to apply to travellers

"with an essential function", including healthcare workers,

seasonal agricultural labour, diplomats, students and people in

need of humanitarian protection. 


Share this article: